Mcferrin, Bobby / Vocabularies
Album: Vocabularies   Collection:World
Artist:Mcferrin, Bobby   Added:May 2010
Label:Decca Music Group Ltd.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-05-30 Pull Date: 2010-08-01 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Aug 1 Jul 25 Jul 18 Jul 11 Jul 4 Jun 27 Jun 20 Jun 6
Airplays: 1 2 1 3 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 14, 2023: Music Casserole
4. Dec 11, 2021: Music Casserole
2. Nov 12, 2022: Music Casserole
The Garden
5. Apr 19, 2017: At the Cafe Bohemian
3. Dec 16, 2021: Music Casserole (rebroadcast from Dec 11, 2021)
6. May 21, 2016: Music Casserole

Album Review
Reviewed 2010-05-29
The master of wordless vocals and mouth music gathers members of his Voicestra ensemble and some guests and once again delivers something fresh and jaw-dropping. The vocal harmonies are perfect. The music flows from jazz to world, from R&B to classical choral, to African chants. The singers were recorded solo or in small groups to create a virtual choir of over 1400 voices – then deliciously mastered to create layers of different styles and vocal types. Every track is outstanding.

1. Bouncing, rich, joyful. It’s liquid, flowing, warm and a just a bit tart. Bobby leads, the layers just stream into a kaleidoscope of voices.
2. Mid/upbeat w/ some driving passages, some dreamy bits. Light percussion accents and a hip urban vibe too.
3. African chants & percussion. Upbeat, driving, powerful. Then it slows down & gets spiritual.
4. Starts off in Latin w/an Indian background. Moves to Sanskrit & phrases from about a dozen languages. Relaxed but a hint of darkness, then powerful and upbeat. Varying tempos and intensity.
5. Slow solo voices joining in to create layers in intro then percussion moves into midtempo groove, kinda Afro/jazzy/blues/soul jam.
6. Midtempo intro then upbeat, tripping and joyful vocal celebration.
7. Slow and sad, rich and fragile. Full of emotion and power. Wow…

Track Listing
1. Baby   4. Messages
2. Say Ladeo   5. The Garden
3. Wailers   6. He Rain To The Train
  7. Brief Eternity