Balkan Beat Box / Blue Eyed Black Boy
Album: Blue Eyed Black Boy   Collection:World
Artist:Balkan Beat Box   Added:Apr 2010
Label:National Geographic Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-04-25 Pull Date: 2010-06-27 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Jun 27 Jun 20 Jun 13 Jun 6 May 30 May 23 May 16 May 9
Airplays: 3 2 6 1 6 3 5 2

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 06, 2022: Alien Hour
Move It
4. Jul 22, 2015: 7-22-2015
Move It
2. Sep 18, 2021: Music Casserole (rebroadcast from Nov 21, 2015)
Smarton, Look Them Act
5. May 09, 2015: BravoMarco Variety Show
3. Nov 21, 2015: Music Casserole
Smarton, Look Them Act
6. Dec 05, 2013: All Things Go
Move It

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2010-04-22
Balkan Beat Box – Blue Eyed Black Boy
Reviewed by Sadie O., 4/22/10
Balkan gypsy brass meets electronic club and hip hop – more of the latter end of the scale than previous releases (partially because of the vocals in English.) Still highly inventive, and more multi-cultural than ever. Basically a trio who had been a klezmer clarinetist, a drummer for Gogol Bordello, and an Israeli MC, who decided to go Balkan/Jamaican.
No FCCs detected. I like 2, 8-11 and 14 best.
1. 0:31 *electronic weeble, then slow collage hip hop intro, leads into next song.
2. 3:55 *****downtempo Bhangra/hip hop/club funk groove with what sounds like a ney (flugelhorn, I guess?). Gnarly! Lyrics in English.
3. 3:22 ***downtempo lazy stroll, sliding bass groove, cool elements from all over… Rather hippie-ish lyrics.
4. 4:08 ***trumpet blats, and lyrics in Spanish through a loudspeaker, swingy Latin groove. Adds up to a nicely crazed mess. Fades in the middle for a groovy trumpet solo. Train sounds at end…
5. 3:48 ***very slow, old fashioned sound, turns into a sort of limping Reggae, lyrics in English. Builds elements – nice. Fair amount of quark, strangeness and charm.
6. 3:44 **cobbled electronic beats, trumpet, uptempo and rather offkilter, in a nice way.
7. 4:06 **sweet, hippie-ish love song, builds and improves dramatically. The Balkan brass adds so much…
8. 3:20 ****loony yell, relaxed midtempo Balkan gypsy groove with a big mess of funk on top. Great stuff! Goes disenframbled in the middle.
9. 3:30 ****gronchy bass and swingy shuffle – a tiny bit of Bhangra, a bit of ney, and bit of laid back club groove. Hip hop vocals. Blends right into next track.
10. 3:49 *****continues the best from previous track, but adds on all sorts of electronic wibbles and Balkan brass – very groovy.
11. 3:36 ****slow throbbing beat, yoiking Eastern European chant, then uptempo syncopated groove with accordion. Expect anything!
12. 3:07 **sweet but lopassed groove with acoustic strings of various sorts, and vocals in English.
13. 4:39 ***North African strings and chanting. A bit Gnawa, a lot something else. Ends with breathy flute and chanting.
14. 3:08 ****big funky horn-based march with sirens, hip hop vocals. Very cool groove.

Track Listing
1. Intro   8. Balcumbia
2. Move It   9. Look Them Act
3. Blue Eyed Black Boy   10. Smarton
4. Marcha De La Vida   11. Lijepa Mare
5. Dancing With The Moon   12. Why
6. Kabulectro   13. Buhala
7. My Baby   14. War Again