Happy Birthday / Happy Birthday
Album: Happy Birthday   Collection:General
Artist:Happy Birthday   Added:Apr 2010
Label:Sub Pop Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-07-11 Pull Date: 2010-09-12
Week Ending: Aug 29 Aug 8 Aug 1 Jul 18
Airplays: 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 30, 2014: The Fishbowl
Perverted Girl
4. Aug 18, 2012: Feral Pop Frenzy
Girls Fm
2. Oct 16, 2014: The Fishbowl
Perverted Girl
5. Oct 20, 2010: Tweeee Timee
Girls Fm
3. Oct 09, 2014: The Fishbowl
Girls Fm
6. Aug 27, 2010: Leland Lives!
Subliminal Message

Album Review
george lu
Reviewed 2011-01-06
Frontman/Vermont native Kyle Thomas blends 90s alternative, twee, 60s rock, and garage punk in an exuberantly. Nevertheless, it combines into fairly straightforward pop rock with all sorts of endearing quirks borrowed from its other influences. The lyrics are consistently cute and lighthearted (most of them deal with being an awkward/sexually frustrated teen.) It ultimately sounds a lot like Girls, especially the vocals or maybe the World Record. It's full of hooks that evoke lots of 50s rock and dreamy california influences. The Instrumentation mostly consists of the standard guitar/bass/drum but they thrown in a lot keyboards. FCC violations on 6+10. Recommend 1, 11, 4, and 5 in that order

1.* (3:00) the single as well most immediately catchy song, mainly thanks to a great chorus. mixes the ramones and sondre lerche.
2. (3:00) really clean, textbook harmonization. the guitars really overwhelm everything else though
3. (2:35) 50s rock. jangly guitars. it builds/simmers for a while (but is by no means a soft, slow song)
4.* (3:38) reminds me of grease, the musical. the vocals and guitars are really playful
5.* (4:00) soaring guitars and synths. the guitar plays along with the vocal melody and I think it works well (though some might disagree)
6. (3:39) FCC: "fuck"
7. (2:05) channels belle&sebastian or tullycraft both stylistically and lyrically. a bit of brian wilson thrown in as well
8. (3:29) soft falsetto vocals with pianos & acoustic guitars mixed in too
9. (2:19) samples under pressure (bowie), but then moves on, like track 5, to sound like grease
10. (1:58) FCC: quite a few "shit" 's
11.* (3:40) mellow pop rock. sunny california sounds

George Lu

Track Listing
1. Girls Fm   6. Eyes Music
2. 2 Shy   7. Maxine The Teenage Eskimo
3. Cracked   8. I Want To Stay (I Run Away)
4. Perverted Girl   9. Pink Strawberry Shake
5. Subliminal Message   10. Zit
  11. Fun