Future Islands / In Evening Air
Album: In Evening Air   Collection:General
Artist:Future Islands   Added:Apr 2010
Label:Thrill Jockey Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-08-22 Pull Date: 2010-10-24
Week Ending: Oct 24 Oct 17 Oct 10 Oct 3 Sep 19 Sep 12 Sep 5 Aug 29
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 3 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. May 02, 2020: Hanging in the bone yard
Tin Man
4. Feb 04, 2016: All Passion No Technique
Tin Man, Long Flight
2. May 10, 2017: All Passion No Technique
Long Flight
5. Jan 28, 2016: All Passion No Technique
Vireo's Eye
3. Feb 18, 2016: All Passion No Technique
Walking Through That Door
6. Dec 30, 2015: Home on the Range
Tin Man

Album Review
Trent Kay
Reviewed 2010-08-17
Mellow synth pop that pulls and pulls from space psych and glam. I hesitate to even call these guys New Wave, because it’s less dancey than... really good background music for reading Vonnegut on the speed train? Unlike a lot of synth pop, the unusual and emotionally-loaded vox take center stage here, while the instrumental side tends towards reassuringly repetitive cosmic chill-out fare. The singer sounds unbelievably like deep-voxed Bowie... when he doesn’t tip the scales to Tom Waits.

try: 7, 1, 3, 9
no FCCs

*1. low-key rocker that fell right off the space oddity train. alien-effect circular synth/keys + bass.
2. groovy, midtempo. twangy, exaggerated down south vocals that go for the gold towards the end. simple high flute-like riff.
*3. grainy chimes/vibes. gravelly theatrical vocals: “i am the tin man”. spare note-at-a-time keys and backing synth.
4. sparse, chill light-touch pipes/vibes and snarly, throaty vocals.
5. creepy grainy recording of ghostly piano playing. play with next track or fade out.
6. sweet and low key. light bouncy guitar riff and mellow vox. high-register organ.
*7. sort of darling. warm downtempo synth. some plinky keys/bells. croony and majestic. very, very bowie.
8. rapid supa-sticky drum machine. epic space synth. mostly well-behaved vox.
*9. high-register hymnal turns into a sad, ethereal loop. repeats “i can’t touch you anymore, i can’t tell you how i feel.” the last two minutes are fairly ambient.

Track Listing
1. Walking Through That Door   5. In Evening Air
2. Long Flight   6. Swept Inside
3. Tin Man   7. Inch Of Dust
4. An Apology   8. Vireo's Eye
  9. As I Fall