Gaudi / No Prisoners
Album: No Prisoners   Collection:General
Artist:Gaudi   Added:Mar 2010
Label:Six Degrees Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-04-11 Pull Date: 2010-06-13 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Jun 13 May 30 May 23 May 16 May 9 May 2 Apr 25 Apr 18
Airplays: 7 1 3 2 2 1 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 21, 2012: Sunshine . . . on a Thanksgiving Eve Afternoon
(4 p.m.) Oud We Think We Are?
4. Jan 14, 2011: Everyday Commotion
Hotel Caledonia
2. Jun 09, 2011: Foreign Light (Immune To Me)
Hotel Caledonia
5. Jan 01, 2011: New World Disorder
Back To Baia
3. Mar 19, 2011: The DJ Never Has It: Comeback Kid Edition (for Kaleo)
Hotel Caledonia
6. Dec 21, 2010: The Musical Mystery Box o'Fun (Best of 2010-Part 1)
Hotel Caledonia

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2010-04-08
Gaudi – No prisoners
Reviewed by Sadie O., 4/8/10
Dub/Reggae/club/electronica/World from a London producer and featuring guest vocals and instrumentalists. Definitely a dance/breakbeat production, but with lots of original and interesting combinations of electronics and musical elements. Most tracks have long fades.
No FCCs detected. I really like almost everything…
1. 4:55 ****hollow, dubby skank with toasting intro – gets a rather clubby beat when the drum comes in, but the bass really is BAAAAD. Gnarly electronics, too.
2. 4:30 **starts with random people noises, rather low. Bits of echo-laden spoken word (Michael Franti), then uptempo jungle beat, breathy spoken word with Franti’s recognizable lyrical style. Switches to underwater lounge jazz, for some reason, then back.
3. 5:16 ****yummy midtempo dub skank. Slinky bass, squinky dub percussion. Nice. Some rather odd Jamaican spoken word, and some great noises. LONG-ass fade.
4. 4:44 ****butt-scuttler fa sho. Get out there on the dance floor and shake it, or I’ll be deeply concerned for you. Fine bass.
5. 5:11 ****lovely, simple oud, snaky rhythm. Part gorgeousness, part gnarly dance club groove. Goes all weird midway along. Bitchen!
6. 5:02 ****bitchen downtempo dub skank. Kinda goes 80’s Europop on us, but it’s still bitchen.
7. 3:18 ***slow dub skank, slinky (like the toy).
8. 5:51 ****bagpipes! Then grunty dance groove. What’s not to love? Bagpipes, begorrah! Ends with several seconds of busy signal…
9. 5:54 ***bells bells bells… bells… Jamaican chanting and gronks, then uptempo dancehall/club groove. Later, plodding beat with organ chords.
10. 4:17 ***R&B female chorus, downtempo slinky skank with rapid-fire toasting.
11. 6:21 ****insistent scronky grunty metallic electronic dance. Goes to dub skank with something a bit like melodica, and back again. Gnarly! last 30 secs are very faint loop of roots singing.

Track Listing
1. Bad Boy Bass   6. No Time (Feat. Dr. Israel)
2. There's Enough (Feat. Michael Franti And Hardage)   7. Barracudub
3. Serious Ting   8. Hotel Caledonia
4. Back To Baia   9. Strictly Goodness (Feat. Kenny Knots)
5. Oud We Think We Are?   10. Brainwashed Again (Feat. Elisa And Danny Ladwa)
  11. No More Blood