Riffle, Chris / Introducing Chris Riffle
Album: Introducing Chris Riffle   Collection:General
Artist:Riffle, Chris   Added:Mar 2010

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-08-08 Pull Date: 2010-10-10
Week Ending: Sep 12 Aug 15
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 09, 2010: Abra's Airwaves
2. Aug 14, 2010: lost and found
Catch The Wind

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2010-08-15
Singer songwriter, guitar/vocal based with pretty orchestration. Comparisons to Nick Drake are too easy but it doesn’t stop there. Fans of Belle and Sebastian type fare, a less mopey Mark Kozelek. All songs well written if lovelorn and pain ridden. Male vocs are slightly effeminate and haunting female vocals appear now and then. Tasteful strings, piano, bass, nothing trite or gratuitous (like what so often plagues this genre). Pretty stuff, if suicidal (this guy is far too sensitive for this shithole world and its unlikely he will survive very much longer).

1) chill, subdued orchestration, lovelorn theme – ouch
2) jangly slightly, another lonely lovelorn song – ouch!
3) gut guitar gives change
4) leaning toward a smooth jazzy feel with Hammond organ
5) brushed drums, songlike, pretty Drake’ish piano feel
6) desperate, lovely, pained, simple if dramatic
7) upbeat?!?! Wtf? Not entirely but almost
8) upbeaty again with the brushed drums, songlike pop
9) simple, briefer
10) another nice pained song

Track Listing
1. Roll Over   6. Walk Away
2. Catch The Wind   7. Simple
3. Everything You Need Is Here   8. Light And Water
4. Younger Years   9. Trains
5. Just Assume   10. Believe In Now