Slew, The / 100%
Album: 100%   Collection:Hip-hop
Artist:Slew, The   Added:Feb 2010
Label:Puget Sound Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-03-07 Pull Date: 2010-05-09
Week Ending: May 9 Mar 28 Mar 21 Mar 14
Airplays: 2 4 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 10, 2019: blown subwoofer
Wrong Side Of The Tracks
4. Jun 18, 2015: channel 0+i
Wrong Side Of The Tracks
2. Oct 20, 2015: subwoofer etc
Wrong Side Of The Tracks
5. Dec 16, 2014: night court
Wrong Side Of The Tracks
3. Jul 29, 2015: zero kelvin
Wrong Side Of The Tracks
6. Dec 07, 2014: the springfield law review
Wrong Side Of The Tracks

Album Review
Reviewed 2010-02-28
This latest release from turntablist genius Kid Koala is a mix project focusing on fusing hard rock records with live guitars, drums, and hip hop beats. Breaking away from his usual dabbling in jazz and world instrumentation, Kid Koala hired guitarist Dynomite D and percussionists Chris Ross and Myles Heskett from the band Wolfmother and had them perform as a backing band to his scratching and cutting of old rock albums. The mixing is superb, Kid Koala is truly a prodigy on the decks. Every track is innovative in its interesting and novel look into the history of rock and roll through the lens of hip-hop. If you’ve ever had secret fantasies of a Led Zeppelin chopped ‘n screwed mixtape, this is your dream come true. Very exciting, very upbeat, and very good. FCC CLEAN! TRY: 6, 1, 8, 2

1. Hard-driving, funky remix, excellent scratching, vocals and guitars sound like something out of a live Led Zeppelin show. Awesome jagged guitar parts.
2. Samples of a narrator talking, deep pounding beats, guitar lines. Great distortion, and nice guitar solos.
3. Lots of funky samples. Hard powerchords and stadium rockers. Slow progression into a very epic chorus.
4. Slightly darker lyrics, and moodier atmosphere…lots of scruffy guitar and distortion (think Rage Against the Machine stuff). Some nice scratching.
5. Slow-tempo song. Gruff vocal samples…awesome
6. Bad-ass dramatic bassline intro. Crazy kaleidoscope of chopped and mixed guitar solos, distortion…oh the glory…
7. Slow-tempo and very psychedelic. Pretty chill, but picks up near the end. Lots of vocal distortion—at times it sounds like it was recorded underwater. Strange sound effects.
8. Slow bluesy rock song mixed together with relentless thumping beats. AMAZING guitar solos. Great scratching on the turntables.
9. Chopped and screwed southern rock. Bluesy, with very pronounced, deliberate scratching and some neat beatgrid mixing.
10. Darker, spacey track…elements of Pink Floyd. Slow, creepy narration. Weird twinkly music-boxes and church bells. Religious themes. Epic. 20 seconds of applause at the end.

Track Listing
1. 100%   6. Robbing Banks (Doin' Time)
2. It's All Over   7. The Grinder
3. Problem Child   8. Shackled Soul
4. You Turn Me Cold   9. Southeast Solioquy
5. Wrong Side Of The Tracks   10. Battle Of Heaven & Hell