Akai / Coldest Hour, The
Album: Coldest Hour, The   Collection:General
Artist: Akai   Added:Feb 2010
Label: Self-Release  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-04-25 Pull Date: 2010-06-27
Week Ending: Jun 27 Jun 20 Jun 13 May 16 May 9
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
An End Deserving
4. Jun 10, 2010: Pipster Smarmage
Not In My Mind
2. Jun 22, 2010: The Orphanage
An End Deserving
5. May 11, 2010: Smartie Pop
Not In My Mind
3. Jun 15, 2010: The Orphanage
An End Deserving
6. May 07, 2010: Everyday Commotion
Not In My Mind

Album Review
DJ Doublestuf
Reviewed 2010-04-22
Akai-The Coldest Hour Is Just Before The Dawn (Self-Released)
Cheery male/female vocalist expansive indie rock very similar to Stars and Fanfarlo. The production is less immediate than Stars or Fanfarlo but the sonic landscape is wider and bursting with random reverb soaked instruments. The tracks can run together because of their similar mood/feel and chamber pop overdoneness. The album is actually strongest when it ditches the chamber pop reverb, piano, and horns for a punkier, guitar/bass/synth driven sound. Those songs taken as singles would be VERY STRONG. So forgive the filler, and play the hell out the picks. FCC CLEAN. Play: 10, 9, 11, 5
1. establishes the band as an indistinguishable chamber pop band.
2. best piano driven track. Plodding, “moon and stars” love lyrics.
3. great and cheery music, melancholy lyrics, strong vocal melody
4. eh
5.* simple but awesome, punkish, huge build up
6. cool vocoder experimentation
7. sounds like filler to me
8. the haunting but positive vocal melody in the background makes this track special
9. ***energetic beat, clear melody, distinctive vocals, powerful, all their strengths come together on this one.
10. ****ditches horns for cool synths, vocalists sounds so much like Jesse Lacey from Brand New. Punkier like 9.
11. **cool accordians, grabbing, almost a jazzy sexy feeling at parts
12. different higher pitched male vocalist. The production is a little overwhelming but the songwriting and lyrics are top notch here.

Track Listing
1. When The Sun Goes Down   7. One More Candle
2. Breath   8. The Moon Remains
3. Satellite   9. Not In My Mind
4. Paper   10. An End Deserving
5. Drifted   11. Like You
6. Morning Follows Night   12. As Long As It's Tomorrow