Bulat, Basia / Heart Of My Own
Album: Heart Of My Own   Collection:General
Artist:Bulat, Basia   Added:Feb 2010
Label:Rough Trade Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-03-07 Pull Date: 2010-05-09
Week Ending: Apr 18 Mar 14
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 17, 2010: Music Casserole
Heart Of My Own
2. Mar 13, 2010: The Knife
Sugar And Spice

Album Review
Abu Ramses
Reviewed 2010-03-21
Basia Bulat, “Heart of My Own” (Rough Trade, 2010)

Reviewed by Abu Ramses

Sophomore album of Canadian singer-songwriter Basia Bulat inspired by her stay in Dawson City, Yukon. Indie folk ballads featuring autoharp, introspective lyrics and solo vocals. Basia plays autoharp, guitar, piano, organ, pianoette, banjo, ukelele, and bass. Lots of other instrumentation.
Try tracks 3, 5, 11

1 Go On – driving, acoustic guitar blossoms into bigger ensemble
2 Run – Sad ballad in ¾ time
3 Sugar and Spice – three-finger picking guitar, slow, ballad
4 Gold Rush – features autoharp, more energy than most tracks
5 Heart of My Own – cello backup and solos
6 Sparrow – ukulele. She sounds out of breath on this one
7 If Only You – upbeat. I’m over you, but take me back
8 I’m Forgetting Everyone – slow ballad, with random cymbals
9 The Shore – autoharp and pianoette(?)
10 Once More, for the Dollhouse – slow, low-key instrumentation
11 Walk You Down – full ensemble, biggest song on the album
12 If It Rains – Dylanesque with organ, bass and drum backup

Track Listing
1. Go On   7. If Only You
2. Run   8. I'm Forgetting Everyone
3. Sugar And Spice   9. The Shore
4. Gold Rush   10. Once More, For The Dollhouse
5. Heart Of My Own   11. Walk You Down
6. Sparrow   12. If It Rains