Ashworth, Mark David / Bright Is The Ring Of Words
Album: Bright Is The Ring Of Words   Collection:General
Artist:Ashworth, Mark David   Added:Feb 2010
Label:Autobus Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-08-29 Pull Date: 2010-10-31
Week Ending: Oct 31 Sep 19
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 31, 2010: the seductardation
Fountain Of Youth
3. Sep 15, 2010: Brownian Motion
2. Oct 30, 2010: Music Casserole
Fountain Of Youth

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2010-08-15
Somber chamber’y singer songwriter fare, guitar/piano led male vocals with string arrangements. Local artist, recorded on the cheap but you could never tell at all. Great stuff for fans of lush fragile stuff in the realm of Nick Drake, Tindersticks, Nick Cave and Bad Seeds, et al.

1) somber yet up with piano and guitar
2) slow sad waltzy feel, lots of strings in outtro
3) guitar arpeggios smack of Nick Drake, somewhat upbeat, still dark though
4) upbeat waltzy, really sweet and pretty pop with piano and perfect mix of elements, melodies
5) cool dark yet smacks of something familiar, 70’s almost, cant put my finger on it but its really good with pensive guitar and cool piano bridge and subtle dissonance
6) lovely instrumental, piano and strange tones
7) swingy with cool ending full of tymphani
8) slow ¾, dramatic with flute and minor tone
9) another pleasant song
10) calypso tropical fun, pretty with upright bass, hard to be somber in the tropics
11) upbeat triplet feel
12) stripped down solo, piano, strings

Track Listing
1. Disappearing Ink   7. Saturn
2. Sometimes It Turns Dry And The Leaves Fall Before They Are Beautiful   8. Copied His Face
3. Keeping Things Whole   9. Clean Slate
4. Pennies   10. Do It Anyway
5. Fountain Of Youth   11. Dark Continents
6. Daylight   12. Bright Is The Ring Of Words