My Robot Friend / Soft-Core
Album: Soft-Core   Collection:General
Artist:My Robot Friend   Added:Feb 2010
Label:Double Feature  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-04-25 Pull Date: 2010-06-27
Week Ending: Jun 27 Jun 20 Jun 13 Jun 6 May 30 May 23 May 16 May 9
Airplays: 1 2 3 3 4 5 3 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 20, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Robot High School
4. Apr 16, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
2. Nov 11, 2022: KZSU Time Traveler
Astronaut (Featuring Dean Wareham)
5. Dec 18, 2020: KZSU Time Traveler
Robot High School
3. Dec 03, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
Astronaut (Featuring Dean Wareham)
6. Jul 03, 2020: KZSU Time Traveler
Robot High School

Album Review
DJ Doublestuf
Reviewed 2010-04-22
My Robot Friend- Soft-Core (Double Feature Records)

Light lyrically goofy synth pop like some of the Magnetic Fields stuff. Similar to hot chip but not as housey, cheerier, goofier, more immediate vocals. Although created by producer Howard Robot, this album doesn’t sound like a laptop love affair that so many producers spawn; this is full of real instrumentation rather than samples. Great detached Depeche Mode like vocals with Beach Boy harmonies. In fact this album owes a lot to New Order, Depeche Mode sort of stuff. The truth is the songs differ a lot stylistically, but check out the picks for some great groove inspired synth junk. Resistance is futile. FCC on 5. Picks 6, 4, 2, 1 Doublestuf
1. *euro trashy beat, minimalist synth, poppy outlook, sick distortion, CATCHY as…
2. **beach boys w/ lots of synths. Simple but fun. More indie rockish than 1.
3. Whispery vox, more atmospheric
4. ***Fluffy, janglely indie pop, acoustic guitar and synths playing with each other
5. Says fuck a lot. But otherwise great dancy track
6. ****Awesome zombie nation collab, very depeche mode. No guitars here. None needed.
7. New wavish pop straight out of the early 80s
8. This track has no little to no relation to synth or electronica.
9. Moody, darkier, ukulele strumming, very chamber poppy.
10. Dark 80s Synth version of sufjan stevens
11. Cheery acoustic, simon and Garfunkel ish
12. Interlude
13. Dancey but experimentalish, reverb soaked, depressed synth ruminations.

Track Listing
1. Robot High School   7. Waiting (Featuring Alison Moyet)
2. Misfits Fight Song (Featuring Outputmessage)   8. Astronaut (Featuring Dean Wareham)
3. By Your Side (Featuring Dean Wareham)   9. Mean
4. Failure   10. Sleepwalkers (Featuring Outputmessage)
5. Boyfriend!   11. Waiting (Featuring Jay Kauffman)
6. The Short Game (Featuring Zombie Nation)   12. 20 Seconds Of Silence
  13. 23 Minutes In Brussels