Weinstein, Mark/Omar Sosa / Tales From The Earth
Album: Tales From The Earth   Collection:World
Artist:Weinstein, Mark/Omar Sosa   Added:Nov 2009
Label:Ota Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-11-29 Pull Date: 2010-01-31 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Jan 31 Jan 24 Jan 17 Jan 10 Jan 3 Dec 27 Dec 20 Dec 13
Airplays: 2 1 2 1 1 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 27, 2016: No Cover, No Minimum
Walking Song
4. Jan 19, 2010: At the Cafe Bohemian
2. Jan 29, 2010: The Rent Party
5. Jan 12, 2010: At the Cafe Bohemian
3. Jan 26, 2010: At the Cafe Bohemian
6. Jan 10, 2010: late night veggies
Children At Play

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-11-24
Sophisticated world jazz (more jazz than world, but I grabbed it) featuring Weinstein on flutes & Sosa on percussion. Backed by a top-notch band it’s a delicious blend of cultural influences. A touch of Africa, a bit of Cuban, a little Jewish…it’s tight and cool and I liked it all. Seriously good.

1. Sweet, short balafon-led Afro-centric bounce.
2. Upbeat, tripping and warm w/delicious interplays & a tight groove.
3. Up balafon hypnotizes n the back while flutes float w/African chants.
4. Hypnotic percussion that flows like a river over unexpected rocks.
5. Tight arrangement, relaxed jam w/wonderful liquid flute.
6. Soaring male vox then upbeat percussion, a cool African journey.
7. Sweet flute, bright and fast. Happy, playful, total freedom.
8. Tight percussion stumbles and twists then flute brightens it up.
9. Perky and playful, bright and quirky. Oh yeah, and sweet.
10. A hint of soul, a lot of Africa. Downtempo goodness.
11. Chorus, upbeat perc, a wild spiritual ride. Yow.
12. Downtempo swirl w/lots of intersections and divergences.
13. Sweet, slow and spare then tripping and busy.
14. Upbeat jam where everyone gets crazy

Track Listing
1. Sunrise   8. Men's Talk
2. Invocation   9. Flirtation
3. Walking Song   10. Praise
4. Tea Break   11. Spirit Messenger
5. Forest Journey   12. Celebration
6. River Crossing   13. Elders Speak
7. Children At Play   14. Gratitude