Letting Up Despite Great Faults / Letting Up Despite Great Faults
Album: Letting Up Despite Great Faults   Collection:General
Artist:Letting Up Despite Great Faults   Added:Nov 2009

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-12-13 Pull Date: 2010-02-14
Week Ending: Feb 14 Feb 7 Jan 31 Jan 24 Jan 17 Dec 27 Dec 20
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 28, 2011: No Waves In Paris
4. Jan 30, 2010: My Musical Midlife Meltdown
Photographs Shakes
2. Feb 11, 2010: The Machine Stops
The Colors Aren't You Or Me
5. Jan 17, 2010: Hipster Garbage [Sub for She Wolf]
3. Feb 04, 2010: Musically Assured Destruction
Photographs Shakes
6. Jan 17, 2010: The DJ Never Has It

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-12-04
Quasi-interesting FruityLoops beats and really soft, bittersweet vocals. All the tracks follow a very similar pattern: whispery, crooning intro>some sort of laptop beat>add more instrumentation>and then pick the pace up a bit for the end. Sounds exactly like the Postal Service or that one really “awesome” band called Owl City. NO FCCS! TRY: 7,5,1,3

1. Slow, fuzzy electronic beat with repetitive guitar plucking and soft crooning vocals. Song picks up energy in a final 67 of glorious “break it down.”
2. Quick beat with whispery silky vocals, echoed piano samples and random 4-note keyboard riffs. Song gains momentum in the end and features cymbal crashes, synth, and strum-strummy guitars.
3. Super-fuzzy lo-fi guitars, tinkle piano, oboe chipper beats.
4. Spacey lyrics, nice synth riffs, scattered guitar chords.
5. Very slow, free-flowing almost meditational jam—all of the sudden this crazy Junior Boys-esque skullcrusher beat pops out and smashes things up. I have no idea why, and it sounds kind of out of place, but the concept is still awe-inspiring nevertheless...
6. Xylophone tinkling interspersed with some poppy electronic beats.
7. Deep resonating baselines, a dancey beat, and strummy guitars. Basically, what happened here is that Broken Social Scene and Death Cab for Cutie had a kid who was put up in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a younger, less-scruffy version of M83.
8. Campfire sing-along song with a shimmery electronic beat in the end.
9. A rock song? What? Where the hell did that come from? Anyway, lots of lo-fi bashing, synth, steady drumming and “I miss you everytime…” lyrics.

Track Listing
1. In Steps   5. Pause
2. Folding Under Stories Told   6. So Fast: You
3. The Colors Aren't You Or Me   7. Photographs Shakes
4. Our Younger Noise   8. Sun Drips
  9. Release