Young, Katherine / Further Secret Origins
Album: Further Secret Origins   Collection:General
Artist:Young, Katherine   Added:Nov 2009
Label:Porter Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-02-21 Pull Date: 2010-04-25 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Apr 4 Mar 28 Mar 14 Feb 28
Airplays: 1 2 1 5

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 02, 2010: Memory Select
4. Mar 12, 2010: Memory Select
2. Mar 26, 2010: Memory Select, late edition
Terra Incognita
5. Feb 27, 2010: On The Warpath
Patricia Highsmith
3. Mar 25, 2010: orangeasm
Orbis Tertius
6. Feb 27, 2010: Music Casserole
Terra Incognita

Album Review
Reviewed 2010-02-07
Droney but active landscapes on solo bassoon, often with electronic effects (including subtle beats) and/or overdubs. It rewards close listening with wisps of melody that do add up to a whole, a story. Two particularly cool tricks: high multitone sounds that resemble harmonica, and low percussive pulses (you can hear both on track 4).

From a Brooklyn new-classical artist who's played in Anthony Braxton ensembles and also a pop band called The Fancy. (Unrelated to Todd Fancy.) Instrumental, FCC clean.

1- (4:00) A freighter blast, followed by quiet wheezes, then a low pulsing
2- (8:04) Gruff and almost bluesy. Active, non-droney piece.
3- (4:39) Whispery, liquidy sounds. Later, high harmonica-like squeaks
4- (14:40) Raspy gentle tones, clipped short like tentative harmonica notes, played over a subtle, irregular pulse. A whispered song that's not in a hurry. Great track but long.
5- (8:01) Long, raspy drone-tones, building tension. Opens with normal bassoon, in chirps and tweaks.
6- (2:06) Dirge tune, a small chorus of sad bassoons. Melodic, nice harmony.
7- (4:53) Long, low tones evoking an eternal sea.

Track Listing
1. Terra Incognita   4. For Autonauts, For Travelers
2. Patricia Highsmith   5. Relief
3. Elevation   6. Some People Say That She Doesn't Exist
  7. Orbis Tertius