Breakestra / Dusk Till Dawn
Album: Dusk Till Dawn   Collection:General
Artist:Breakestra   Added:Oct 2009

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-11-15 Pull Date: 2010-01-17
Week Ending: Jan 17 Jan 10 Jan 3 Dec 27 Dec 20 Dec 13 Dec 6 Nov 22
Airplays: 1 4 2 3 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 06, 2011: Happy Hour
'posed To Be Feat. Chali 2na, Mixmasterr Wolf & Dj Dusk
4. Apr 01, 2011: microclimate
Come On Over Feat. Afrodyete
2. Jul 16, 2011: New World Disorder
'posed To Be Feat. Chali 2na, Mixmasterr Wolf & Dj Dusk, Lowdown Stank
5. Jan 14, 2011: microclimate
Joyful Noise
3. Jun 07, 2011: broken flowers
Come On Over Feat. Afrodyete
6. Jan 06, 2011: Morning Glory (Hallelujah!)
Lowdown Stank, Need A Little Love

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2009-11-02
Breakestra – Dusk til Dawn
Reviewed by Sadie O., 11/2/09
Funky, FUNKY party soul from LA. Apparently started in an attempt to recreate, with full band, the great old stuff being sampled on the golden era hip hop tracks. Whatever angle you tackle the funk from, it don’t matter if you do it with your heart and soul, and that’s unquestionably here. Seriously killer – and seriously fun.
FCCs? There may be a fleeting “shit” on track 10, but it’s hard to tell.
It’s all GREAT – I like 6, 10, and 12 the most.
1. 5:16 ***big horn flourishes, midtempo funky strut. Second line drum riff, falsetto vocals and a bit of psychedelic guitar solo. Ain’t nothin’ but a party, y’all!
2. 6:08 **bongos intro, then bass and flute – a bit of Isaac Hayes feel. Gruff vocals.
3. 4:26 ****super funky strut, fine female vocals. Just as tasty as makes no never mind. Great toy piano solo.
4. 2:54 ***midtempo bass-led crawl with farfisa. Instrumental – wish it was longer, that’s all!
5. 3:12 ***uptempo booty-shaker, sweet tenor vocals.
6. 4:54 *****fuzz guitar psychedelic soul - Cloud Nine here we come! Wild coarse vocals – and a bass solo, too!
7. 5:01 ****from fuzz to wah-wah – super funky, super cool. Wow, and violin? New and refreshing!
8. 2:51 **the violin is back, and falsetto vocals – interesting combination.
9. 5:51 ****uptempo funky mashed potato chicken with the coarse vocals.
10. 5:21 *****uptempo funky hip hop with DJ Dusk and Chali 2na (yay!) on vocals. So good!
11. 5:03 ***low-key bass and hi-hat intro, then slinky midtempo farfisa highlife instrumental with smatterings of fuzz and psychedelia.
12. 6:41 ******FUN-KAY, too many cool elements to list. Crazy cool! (Kevvy-Kev’s been playing the 12” almost every show for the past two months… OK then.)
13. 5:36 ****Makossa! That’s all I’m sayin’.
14. 5:28 ***chicken pickin guitar intro, then cool instrumental wiggle with some sweet piano (and rather inexplicable strings).
15. 4:34 ***relaxed, groovy funky soul. You can totally pick up babes to this one. Aggressive electric guitar solo midway through.

Track Listing
1. Need A Little Love   8. I Don't Wanna Wait
2. Dark Clouds Rain Soul   9. No Matter Where You Go
3. Come On Over Feat. Afrodyete   10. 'posed To Be Feat. Chali 2na, Mixmasterr Wolf & Dj Dusk
4. Back At The Boathouse   11. North-East To Nippon
5. Get It Right   12. Lowdown Stank
6. Show You The Way   13. Joyful Noise
7. Me & Michelle   14. You'll Never Know Feat. Jeremy Ruzumna
  15. Set The Sun (For Tarek)