Lost Fingers, The / Lost In The 80s
Album: Lost In The 80s   Collection:General
Artist:Lost Fingers, The   Added:Oct 2009
Label:Tandem Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-10-18 Pull Date: 2009-12-20
Week Ending: Dec 20 Dec 13 Dec 6 Nov 29 Nov 8 Nov 1 Oct 25
Airplays: 1 2 1 1 1 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 31, 2012: New World Disorder
Pump Up The Jam
4. Dec 12, 2009: On The Warpath
Billie Jean
2. Dec 24, 2009: Eve of Disorder
Billie Jean
5. Dec 12, 2009: New World Disorder
Straight Up
3. Dec 19, 2009: Best Disorders of 2009
Pump Up The Jam
6. Dec 05, 2009: New World Disorder
You Give Love A Bad Name

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2009-10-19
The Lost Fingers – Lost in the 80s
Reviewed by Sadie O. 10/19/09
Terrible 80’s hits covered a la Django – brilliant musicianship and vocals and arrangements. It works both as a funny novelty record and really musically excellent body of work – that doesn’t happen often. Either way, it should lift everyone’s spirits. It’s hard to imagine why these things weren’t recorded like this in the first place…
No FCCs that I could hear. I like 1, 8, also 2, 6, 11, 12 – all of em.
1. 3:49 *****guitar flourish intro, midtempo funky shuffle – the combination of guitar jazz and disco lyrics is pretty wild. Terrific guitar duet mid-song.
2. 3:51 ****solo vocal intro (much the same as original), then breathtaking Django-style guitar.
3. 3:09 ***downtempo, swingy, more than a hint of Satchmo in the vocals.
4. 4:13 ***slow intro in French, then uptempo two-step with hyperspeed guitar runs.
5. 3:42 ***chugging little 4/4 groove, fingersnaps, pretty guitar riffs and sleazy lyrics.
6. 3:49 ****uptempo swing with skat singing. Airy and light.
7. 4:09 ***uptempo and upbeat, and really silly – if the musicianship wasn’t so good. Another blistering guitar solo…
8. 4:17 *****damn! Uptempo with cute little backing bops and overwrought lead vocals, and a song EVERYONE remembers. Completely brilliant ending.
9. 4:53 ***guitar flourishes intro, lounge bopper.
10. 3:31 **very subdued guitar and upright bass intro, then midtempo bouncy happy boppy thing.
11. 4:06 ****Spanish guitar intro, uptempo wiggle – don’t know how they made this dog sound so good. Nice bit of walking bass and nuttiness.
12. 5:23 ****lazy downtempo stroll, brilliant vocals (listen and weep, Nat King Cole!) NB: a few moments of dramatic silence.
13. 3:47 ***back to the uptempo sashay and Djangoism, very light and unctuously hip vocals in Frencha.
14. 3:18 ***furiously uptempo guitar scratching, bops and very, very French vocals. And at the end, everybody dies! YAY!!!

Track Listing
1. Pump Up The Jam   8. Billie Jean
2. You Give Love A Bad Name   9. Careless Whisper
3. You Shook Me All Night Long   10. Tainted Love
4. Incognito   11. Straight Up
5. Touch Me   12. Black Velvet
6. Part-Time Lover   13. Bonus Track: Joe Le Taxi
7. Fresh   14. Bonus Track: Belleville Rendez-Vous