Bubba Beyond / Land Of A Thousand Doses
Album: Land Of A Thousand Doses   Collection:General
Artist:Bubba Beyond   Added:Sep 2009
Label:Oasis Disc Manufacturing  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-10-11 Pull Date: 2009-12-13
Week Ending: Dec 13 Nov 29 Nov 1 Oct 18
Airplays: 2 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 10, 2017: Happy Hour
In This Imperfect Life
4. Nov 09, 2015: Happy Hour
Tell Me
2. Jan 04, 2016: Happy Hour
In This Imperfect Life
5. Feb 17, 2014: Happy Hour
I Can't Help Myself
3. Dec 28, 2015: Happy Hour
What You Growin'?
6. Sep 30, 2013: Happy Hour (Coverin' for PACC)
What You Growin'?

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2009-09-28
Bubba Beyond – Land of 1000 Doses
Reviewed by Sadie O., 9/28/09
Stoned hippy psychedelic funk from No. Cal. I’m a shameless pushover – a sad slut with runs in my stockings, in fact – for a good bass sound, and when your bassist has a name like Tyrone “T-Bone” Pickett, that’s gotta be a good sign. There’s also a good horn section and really noodly electric guitar. Some of the lyrics and vocals are great, some are a bit goofy and trying too hard. Now, where the hell did I put my patchouli oil?
FCCs on 1, 2, 5, mostly singular. I kinda wish they’d stuck to instrumentals! I particularly like track 6.
1. 6:53 FCC: “sheeit” ***trumpet flourishes, growly bass, noodly electric guitar, midtempo shuffle. Stoned hippy funk! Half goofy, half brilliant.
2. 4:15 FCC: “shit” ****midtempo, upbeat funky strut with wah-wah.
3. 5:39 **downtempo, relaxed sashay. Bluesy song of lost love.
4. 6:21 ***electronic bubbles, then driving midtempo march w/ horns and plenty of bass. Instrumental, which is a good thing. Gets really jammy/noodly.
5. 4:06 FCC: “fuck” a few times. ***downtempo relaxed groove with lots of percussion, wah-wah. Other than the gratuitous FCCs, the lyrics are political.
6. 7:03 ****cool bass-led groove, downtempo and mellow-jazzy. Picks up speed and energy midway through, modulates nicely. And no FCCs! Last minute goes back to quiet and mellow jam.
7. 3:59 **low-key downtempo groove. Sweet love song to family, VERY mellow. Pretty Hindu chanting in second half of song.
8. 6:08 **laid-back midtempo shuffle. EXTREMELY hippie lyrics, but some of the music is gorgeous. It’ll give you pretty dreams, if you don’t snicker at the earnestness of it all.
9. 6:08 ***downbeat but bouncy stroll, groovy. Shiva made him funky, now. Alreety alrighty!
10. 8:05 *VERY uptempo and upbeat (at start), cover of the classic. Goes into a LONG jam and devolves almost completely, so you noise enthusiasts should dig it.
11. 5:35 **downtempo and mellow soulful march with piano and flute. Instrumental.

Track Listing
1. What You Growin'?   6. Everything I Do Is Gonna Be Funky
2. Don't Make Me Get Funky On Ya   7. With My Family
3. Tell Me   8. In This Imperfect Life
4. All About More   9. I Can't Help Myself
5. You Talkin' Crazy   10. Land Of 1000 Dances
  11. Elf Portrait