Signer / Next We Bring You The Fire
Album: Next We Bring You The Fire   Collection:General
Artist:Signer   Added:Sep 2009
Label:Carpark Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-01-10 Pull Date: 2010-03-14
Week Ending: Feb 7 Jan 31 Jan 24
Airplays: 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 04, 2010: orangeasm
The Glass Ceiling
3. Jan 28, 2010: Finest Featured
Nord All Black Keys
2. Jan 29, 2010: The Courtesy Flush - yakusa mama edition
Languidly Toot
4. Jan 20, 2010: Brownian Motion
Nord All Black Keys

Album Review
DJ Doublestuf
Reviewed 2010-01-05
Signer-next we bring you the fire (Carpark Records)
Psychedelic new wave with trip hop beats and angelic vocals. Sounds like the 80s on acid instead of cocaine. I honestly couldn’t tell what most of Signer was saying, but his breathy vocal harmonies are joyous and beautiful. The synths can get grating at times, but at moments I just gaped in awe at the sonic palette this guy makes. Definitely reminiscent of a trippy cross between M83, Iron and Wine, and Tesla Boy. If you like experimental stuff like Renfro, play this. FCC Clean (from what I could tell) Picks 6, 1, 2, 4 DJ Doublestuf
1. The minute you hear this song, you’ll think 80s. But then it becomes immediately apparent that this ain’t the 80s anymore when he starts singing. Beautiful. Second half of the song is very cool with a beat that sounds like electricity
2. Lots of processed vocals, sounds like a happy Fever Ray or The Knife
3. The synths kind of grated on me on this one, good vocals though
4. Synth processing of trumpets. As original as music can be these days
5. Very cool beat here, ends like 10 seconds before it says it does]
6. Sigur Rossish. But synthy, AWESOME TRACK
7. Epic, ominous
8. More subdued, no strong beat, chiller

Track Listing
1. Nord All Black Keys   5. The Glass Ceiling
2. +Kicks And Kicks   6. We Should Touch Teeth
3. Break My Arms Around You   7. Don't Be A Forest Cow
4. Languidly Toot   8. Unprotected Walls