Lindahl, Mason / Serrated Man Sound
Album: Serrated Man Sound   Collection:General
Artist:Lindahl, Mason   Added:Sep 2009
Label:Porter Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-09-27 Pull Date: 2009-11-29
Week Ending: Nov 29 Nov 8 Nov 1 Oct 25 Oct 18 Oct 11 Oct 4
Airplays: 1 1 4 5 5 4 6

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 24, 2011: lost and found
Smaller Sizes Bigger Words
4. Jan 28, 2010: Folktronic
2. May 23, 2010: Folktronic with special guest Christopher Willits
5. Dec 12, 2009: lost and found
No Man
3. Apr 11, 2010: Folktronic
6. Nov 28, 2009: lost and found
Dressed And Pleased

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2009-09-18
This is the type of new artist that I keep saying its our duty in college radio to break: one second you think this is bizarre experimental dark guitar then it starts sounding like Nick Drake or Leonard Cohen. Solo artist with guitar and some serious tape manipulation savvy. Fantastic stuff that Micheal Gira (Young God Records: Devandra Banhardt, Angels of Light) probably is very envious of. Just lots of well played, interesting acoustic guitar and vocals. RIYL: Swans, Devandra, Nick Drake, etc. Tracks 1 and 2 are so good they make my brain throw up.

1) acoustic guitar with what sounds like slowed down drugged out vocals and lovely little dashes of electronics, just a lovely glimmering raindrop in the sunlight on your brain’s windshield
2) frightening, arpeggio guitar lulls you then a heaviness blindsides the whole thing, wow!!
3) hypnotic strumming, almost normal
4) treated arpeggios, strange sounds here and there, instrumental
5) a lovely song, normal in the sense of no treatments (besides a bad low-fi buzz), on par with Nick Drake or something
6) arpeggio finger picking galore, like Nick Drake on speed, with a down tuned E and some open strings its just sublime
7) echoey vocals and distortion added to the guitar gives this a distinctly psyche feel that would make it fit in well with other bands of the genre
8) more fast arpeggios all over themselves, instrumental
9) a very pretty, mellow singer songwriter song, Drake/Kozelek fans take note
10) arpeggios and the exploding drums and sounds appear again, cool

Track Listing
1. Warm Ducks   6. No Man
2. You, Sun Bathe   7. Smaller Sizes Bigger Words
3. Here Blows   8. Absolutely
4. Nine   9. Dressed And Pleased
5. The Greater Clapping Of Hands   10. Serrated Man Sound