Helado Negro / Awe Owe
Album: Awe Owe   Collection:General
Artist:Helado Negro   Added:Aug 2009
Label:Asthmatic Kitty  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-11-08 Pull Date: 2010-01-10
Week Ending: Dec 20 Dec 13 Nov 15
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 15, 2009: The Courtesy Flush
Dos Suenos
3. Nov 12, 2009: jerry rice's return
2. Dec 12, 2009: lost and found

Album Review
Eustace McFrillyFries
Reviewed 2009-11-09
Helado Negro
Awe Owe

Gentle, reserved latin art folk with hints of classic psychedelia and modern electronic themes. Seamlessly blends clean yet quirky instrumentation, mish mash loops carved from a broad quotidian sound palette, and rich harmonious, haunting vocals. Melodically the vocals are more derived from yo la tengo and belle & sebastian than your traditional latin signifiers, but the record retains a certain exotic feel throughout. Shades of grizzly bear and devendra banhart(if they had worked with Tom Zé). Helado Negro is Roberto Carlos Lange, a frequent collaborator of prefuse 73. Basically, yet another Brooklyn hipster has emerged out of the woodwork with a sound that’s both eclectic and beautiful. Well, shit.
No fccs. It’s in Spanish, fool.

1.Pleasant acoustic strumming, kitchen sink percussion. 5:41
2.Brisk stomp, more forceful guitar. A subtle marimba fits well with the layered vocal hook. 3:40
3. Simple plucked progressions and a soft swirl of vocals that take the front seat here, directing the melody and summoning the life of the song. Female solo at the end is a real treat. Very grizzly bear. 2:35
4. Upbeat panda bear, looped chants, and a charming bassoon. 3:32
5. Sneaks in with echoed vocals and two competing percussive rhythms. Patient, subtle, disruptive bassoon laced aphex twin meets brian eno break in the middle. 3:48
6. Quick and simple. Stuttering drums. Lazy smoky evening at the beachside bar. 1:52
7. Ethereal – wind instruments spinning around, distant spiritual crooning. No beat. 2:15
8. Tribal, sparkling panda bear loop that builds into a snail’s pace orgy of instruments, effects, and coos. Vocals, but no lyrics. 5:16
9. Marimba, clackers, and shakers. The most latin track on here. 2:48
10. Strong percussion, moves on well from the previous track. Manages to create a relaxing mood despite its relatively upbeat tempo. Dissolves. 3:28
11. Handclaps, lonely bassy wind instruments. Evokes a rainy, echoey kaleidascoped daze. In my cursory google search before writing this review I stumbled upon a pitchfork writeup on this song. They gave it a 6. Fuck them. This is a 10. Ends with a final triumphant wind instrument huff. 2:28

Track Listing
1. Venceremos   6. Playas
2. Espuma Negra   7. Time Aparts
3. Dos Suenos   8. Awe
4. Dahum   9. Ver A Ver
5. I Wish   10. Santero
  11. Deja