Fort Knox Five / Radio Free Dc Remixed
Album: Radio Free Dc Remixed   Collection:General
Artist:Fort Knox Five   Added:Aug 2009

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-08-16 Pull Date: 2009-10-18
Week Ending: Oct 18 Oct 11 Oct 4 Sep 27 Sep 20 Sep 13 Sep 6 Aug 30
Airplays: 4 2 2 5 1 5 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 31, 2017: Happy Hour
The Fk Strut (Qdup Foundation Remix)
4. Jan 26, 2013: New World Disorder
Sao Funky (Thomas Blondet Remix)
2. Jul 31, 2015: Pumping Iron
Killa Soundboy (Sub Swara Remix)
5. Jan 23, 2013: Sunshine . . . in the Afternoon
(3:45 p.m.) The Fk Strut (Qdup Foundation Remix)
3. Jul 16, 2013: Good Day Sunshine
How To Start A Band (Torpedo Boyz Remix)
6. Jul 17, 2012: Sunshine . . . in the Afternoon
Funk 4 Peace (Deekline & Ed Solo Remix), Funk 4 Peace (Nick Thayer Remix)

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2009-08-17
Fort Knox Five – Radio Free DC Remixed
Reviewed by Sadie O., 8/12/09
16 flavors of FUNK, baybee! From disco and Blaxploitation to rave and dubstep – and from Washington DC – remixed for your comfort and enjoyment. All tracks terrific – I’ve marked em according to my tastes, but that’s arbitrary, so give em all a listen and see what you like.
FCCs – I only heard a “shit” very much in passing on Track 1. A lot of vocals are pretty garbled and processed and accented…
1. 3:12 FCC (single brief “shit”) ***funky hand percussion, scratching, old school hip hop with several voices. Great beat, fun sound.
2. 3:21 ****a bit downtempo, funky syncopated electronics. Nice!
3. 3:48 ***uptempo, totally old school funk – almost P-funk.
4. 3:39 ****midtempo, syncopated, with hand a bit of Latin percussion. In Spanish, I think, despite the title.
5. 3:49 ****midtempo funk ‘n’ blats. Hooray!
6. 4:10 **uptempo 2/2 thump with a bit of rave and a bit of disco, electronica.
7. 3:20 ****odd banging syncopation for what otherwise sounds like Dancehall. Uptempo, feat. Sub Swara on vocals. Gets way groovier halfway along.
8. 4:31 ***downtempo, classic funk beat with a modern twist, Dancehall vocals.
9. 6:01 ***midtempo rave beat, processed spoken samples, blats. Also some killer bass and handdrums, etc.
10. 5:32 **Latin percussion cowbell, complex instrumental groove with horns and just a soupcon of Blaxploitation.
11. 4:11 **midtempo disco groove. 70’s flashback!
12. 5:54 **electronic whooshes, then uptempo rave with a bit of sound collage, a bit dub reggae, inscrutable singing.
13. 4:31 **funky uptempo hip hop, scratching and electronics and old school vocals. More complex than track 1.
14. 3:16 **uptempo electronic dance with lots of electronic whizzing. Completely different beat from track 2. Added female hip hop vocals.
15. 4:52 ***Farts! Midtempo limping insect dance with sound effects. Grotty!
16. 3:58 ****uptempo, more Blaxploitation than track 11’s disco leaning. Super funky, with bits of blattiness.

Track Listing
1. Insight (The Nextmen Remix)   9. The Spirit Of '75 (Neighbor Remix)
2. Funk 4 Peace (Nick Thayer Remix)   10. Papa Was Stoned (Fuzzbox Inc Remix)
3. How To Start A Band (Torpedo Boyz Remix)   11. Uptown Tricks (Rodney Hunter Remix)
4. Sao Funky (Thomas Blondet Remix)   12. Not Gonna Take It (Rob Paine Remix)
5. The Fk Strut (Qdup Foundation Remix)   13. Insight (A.Skillz Remix)
6. The Party Pushers (Smalltown Rodeo Remix)   14. Funk 4 Peace (Deekline & Ed Solo Remix)
7. Killa Soundboy (Sub Swara Remix)   15. The Wonder Strikes Again (Malente Remix)
8. The Wonder Strikes Again (Jon Ohms Remix)   16. Uptown Tricks (Shimon Remix)