Nether Dawn, The / Well Song
Album: Well Song   Collection:General
Artist:Nether Dawn, The   Added:Jun 2009
Label:Porter Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-08-23 Pull Date: 2009-10-25
Week Ending: Oct 25 Oct 18 Oct 11 Oct 4 Sep 27 Sep 20 Sep 13 Sep 6
Airplays: 2 1 2 2 2 1 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 22, 2009: New Playlist
Fools Sweet Ramble
4. Oct 07, 2009: Brownian Motion
Step Through The Night
2. Oct 18, 2009: Wizzardmusique
Step Through The Night
5. Oct 06, 2009: Memory Select
Well Song
3. Oct 14, 2009: Lost Verses
Step Through The Night
6. Sep 30, 2009: Brownian Motion
Still Watch The Sky

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-08-15
"Midnight drone blues:" Like really slow psych rock jams with a modern sense of noise. Mysterious tracks ina dark, mostly slow-moving atmosphere of experimental sounds plus guitar. (No drums.) Much of the recording was done in underground bunkers and other types of "man-made caves," as the liner notes put it. The Nether Dawn is musician Antony Milton, of New Zealand.

1- Energetic and spacey. Desultory guitar chords under a light haze of long electronics tones.
2- Ringing guitar chords, echoey sounds. Ghostly wordless singing.
3- Slow colored tones that almost form songlike patterns. By midway, a good intensity has built up, with a beat and a lone guitar, faint amid the soft howling. Thunderous, but takes its time getting there. Last 15 seconds are really quiet.
4- A quiet light mist. Placid guitar, disturbed by an off-toned buzz at first.
5- Shimmering pulse a la Tangerine Dream. Indiscernible sung phrases. Guitars build a slow burning frenzy. Screeching and howling by the end, a good late-night freak out.

Track Listing
1. Rise   3. Still Watch The Sky
2. Well Song   4. Fools Sweet Ramble
  5. Step Through The Night