Crystal Method, The / Divided By Night
Album: Divided By Night   Collection:General
Artist:Crystal Method, The   Added:May 2009
Label:Tiny E Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-10-11 Pull Date: 2009-12-13 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Dec 13 Nov 29 Nov 15 Nov 8 Nov 1 Oct 25 Oct 18
Airplays: 2 1 2 3 2 4 7

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 11, 2017: The Offbeat Generation
Drown In The Now (Feat. Matisyahu)
4. Nov 26, 2012: Happy Hour (Coverin' for PACC)
Falling Hard (Feat. Meiko)
2. Sep 30, 2013: Happy Hour (Coverin' for PACC)
Drown In The Now (Feat. Matisyahu)
5. Jul 11, 2012: Summer Session
Drown In The Now (Feat. Matisyahu)
3. Apr 29, 2013: Happy Hour
Falling Hard (Feat. Meiko)
6. Dec 29, 2011: Happy Hour
Sine Language (Feat. Lmfao)

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-10-02
The Crystal Method “Divided by Night”
Big Beat electronic music pioneers stick to their winning recipe in this star-studded album (spots by Matisyahu, Emily Haines, Jason Lytle…). Lots of gritty, chunky chords and ‘90s distorted man-robot vox. If you want to inject some pep into your set, the Crystal Method’s still got you covered – just don’t expect anything earth shaking.
No FCCs Start with 3, 2, 8

1) mid tempo, repetitive computer vox slows down but resumes w/ :45s left
2) *space odyssey with bass; New Order bassist guest spots & you can sense it
3) *** Grinding electro meets a chanting Matisyahu. Not perfect but hell yes anyway!
4) *Bitchin vox from She Wants Revenge singer Justin Warfield + driving synth
5) *no vox, driving 90s rave stuff you’ve heard before; still good for an energy shot
6) good opening beats get swamped by trite rap “In the club the line is long/ about as long as my dingly dong”; Good for laughs
7) Sirens, bleeps, grungy, general cacophony + power chords; very chaotic
8) * Emily Haines’ wispy vox are a welcome change from robot man; lots of bells & synth don’t drown her out “gonna hold my breath til you come back clean”
9) * Granddaddy’s Jason Lytle adds soft nerdy vox to a testosterone charged beat
10) Song is called “black rainbows” but vox sound like a chipper Vitamin C song
11) Choppy and gritty. Loads of grinding synth & power chords
12) Meiko guests & SLOWS this track down; plaintive guitar w/ clappy percussion

Track Listing
1. Divided By Night   7. Double Down Under
2. Dirty Thirty (Feat. Peter Hook)   8. Come Back Clean (Feat. Emily Haines)
3. Drown In The Now (Feat. Matisyahu)   9. Slipstream (Feat. Jason Lytle)
4. Kling To The Wreckage (Feat. Justin Warfield)   10. Black Rainbows (Feat. Stefanie King Warfield)
5. Smile?   11. Blunts And Robots (Feat. Peter Hook)
6. Sine Language (Feat. Lmfao)   12. Falling Hard (Feat. Meiko)