Lee, Ben / Rebirth Of Venus, The
Album: Rebirth Of Venus, The   Collection:General
Artist:Lee, Ben   Added:Apr 2009
Label:New West Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-05-24 Pull Date: 2009-07-26
Week Ending: Jul 26 Jul 12 Jul 5 Jun 28 Jun 21 Jun 14 Jun 7
Airplays: 2 3 2 2 3 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 20, 2016: Time Traveler
What's So Bad (About Feeling Good)?
4. Jul 10, 2009: Time Traveler
What's So Bad (About Feeling Good)?
2. Jul 24, 2009: Time Traveler
5. Jul 09, 2009: The Songsmith Show
Rise Up
3. Jul 21, 2009: thats not bluerass
Rise Up
6. Jul 07, 2009: Time Traveler
What's So Bad (About Feeling Good)?

Album Review
Truc Nguyen
Reviewed 2009-06-21
Ben Lee – Rebirth of Venus
Male vocals, singer-songwriter. Saccharine lyrics and upbeat sound. Acoustic guitar and piano driven. Most songs are unmemorable and kind of blurs together. Picks are 5, 7 10, 12.
FCCs: 6 (fuck)

1. Mid-tempo. Starts out with tapping on tin cans, pots and pans. Upbeat, consistent rhythm carried by the bass.
2. Chorus throughout. Gets quiet at 1:56 but picks up again. Clapping hands. Flourish at the end and fades out.
3. Staccato-y piano response to Lee’s vocals. Xylophone plays sweet melody at parts. Innocent and childish, anthem for a sunny day.
4. Talks and sings to a consistent beat. Slight electronic layer of dull beepings. Female vocals.
5. * Soft, slow acoustic guitar and vocals with female accompaniment. Piano melody repeats.
6. Faster paced, more energetic.
7. ** Weird, funky electronicy beat. Half talks/half sings with really wispy, sweet chorus.
8. Mushy ballad, female vocals.
9. Clapping to the beat, humming the melodies. Self-aware with people talking in the background at times.
10. * Synthy chords at beginning. Lee reads some lines like poetry interspersed with a chorus that sounds like it could be background music of a Coke commercial.
11. Sweet, unmemorable track.
12. ** Begins with slow electronic sounds reminiscent of The Postal Service. Very vocal driven until 1:30 when drums and piano comes in. Guitar solo in the middle, gets soft then abruptly gets louder at 3:20 with chorus joining in.
13. Drums and clapping carry the song. Sounds like a church song with call and response from chorus

Track Listing
1. What's So Bad (About Feeling Good)?   7. Boy With A Barbie
2. Surrender   8. Bad Poetry
3. Sing   9. Blue Denim
4. I Love Pop Music   10. Wake Up To America
5. Rise Up   11. I'm A Woman Too
6. Yoko Ono   12. Families Cheating At Board Games
  13. Song For The Divine Mother Of The Universe