Gillard, Meilana / Day One
Album: Day One   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Gillard, Meilana   Added:Apr 2009
Label:Inner Circle Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-08-23 Pull Date: 2009-10-25 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Oct 25 Oct 11 Sep 27 Sep 6
Airplays: 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 21, 2009: ... Over the Hump (or "Sunshine in the Afternoon")
Day One
4. Sep 20, 2009: Transmission Overload
Day One
2. Oct 20, 2009: Memory Select
Day One
5. Sep 04, 2009: No Cover, No Minimum
Red Sky
3. Oct 07, 2009: ... Over the Hump
Sounds Like Yes

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-08-15
Contemporary jazz, polished mainstream stuff. Sax-led, with electric guitar and electric piano, for a small dash of fusion -- but really, the straight-up modern sax sound dominates. Steady, confident drumming that's worth some attention.

Meliana Gillard -- tenor sax
Nir Felder -- guitar
Sam Barsh -- electric piano
Marcos Varela -- bass
Tyshawn Sorey -- drums

1- Mid/fast, a cool slick energy. Fusiony guitar solo.
2- Gentle midtempo, a lazy summer feel. Apt title. Nicely soaring by the end.
3- Careful mid/fast over busy bass/drums. A swingy bounce, a cool late-night club feel. Good sax solo.
4- Romantic, mellow slow dance. Midtempo.
5- Mid/fast. Low key but with some attitude.
6- Mid/fast creeping, quiet, with a touch of "world" exotic. Snappy drum solo near end.
7- Summery flutter, a '70s breeze. Easygoing. Mildly Latin funk to the drums. Interesting sax solo.
8- Mellow midtempo. Fairly bold sound but overall relaxing, even a little loungy.

Track Listing
1. Day One   5. Blissful Illusion
2. Semisweet   6. Red Sky
3. Identity   7. Sounds Like Yes
4. A Spirit Remembered   8. Then Came The Sun