Monfort, Matthew / Seven Serenades For Scalloped Fretboard Guitar
Album: Seven Serenades For Scalloped Fretboard Guitar   Collection:World
Artist:Monfort, Matthew   Added:Mar 2009
Label:Ancient-Future.Com Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-04-05 Pull Date: 2009-06-07 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Jun 7 May 31 May 10 May 3 Apr 19
Airplays: 1 1 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 01, 2010: that's not bluegrass
Celtic Raga, Michelle's Sitar
4. May 08, 2009: The Rent Party
Celtic Raga
2. Jun 02, 2009: At the Cafe Bohemian
Gauri The Golden
5. May 05, 2009: At the Cafe Bohemian
Gauri The Golden
3. May 26, 2009: At the Cafe Bohemian
Purple Raga
6. Apr 29, 2009: KZSU's Heartbleeps
Purple Raga

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-04-06
Not our typical kind of world music, but I thought it was interesting. Monfort makes the guitar sound like a sitar. Some might find this too “new age” but I found it unexpected and quite good. As befits the term “serenades” all are slow and all infused with the spirit of India.

*1. Raga w/didjeridu drone & strings. Mysterious & a bit dark.
2. Flamenco-like trill w/hints of India and the medieval world.
3. Solo guitar part N. Indian raga, part ballad. Lyrical.
4. Relaxed folk, almost Hawaiian solo guitar.
*5. Blend of Indian & Celtic, picks up later. Good finger work.
*6. A didjeridu dones hypnotically while guitar blends rock & India.
7. Solo guitar, a touch of blues by way of Bombay.

Track Listing
1. Gauri The Golden   4. Michelle's Sitar
2. Sangria   5. Celtic Raga
3. Soud Serenade   6. Purple Raga
  7. Lilalit