Cale, J. J. / Roll On
Album: Roll On   Collection:General
Artist:Cale, J. J.   Added:Mar 2009
Label:Rounder Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-04-19 Pull Date: 2009-06-21
Week Ending: Jun 21 Jun 14 May 31 May 24 May 17 May 10 May 3 Apr 26
Airplays: 2 1 2 1 2 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 29, 2014: Eclectic Erudition
Bring Down The Curtain
4. Jun 18, 2009: The Songsmith Show
Roll On
2. Jul 30, 2013: Thats Not bluegrass
Roll On
5. Jun 11, 2009: The Songsmith Show
Strange Days
3. Jun 18, 2009: in the groove
Cherry Street
6. May 29, 2009: The Songsmith Show
Strange Days

Album Review
Frank Jackson
Reviewed 2009-04-08
Blues, jazz, country, folk, rock – this album has most everything that’s great about American music. Cale’s voice sounds just as it did in the ‘70’s, with that same, distinctive soft delivery. There are some toe-tappin’, leg-clappin’ numbers here as well as some really well-done slower tunes. Guest appearances by Jim Keltner and Eric Clapton on track #11. All songs are worth a play; my favorites are 1, 4, 5, 9, 11. No FCC’s.

1. Mid. Barroom jazzy/bluesy with some great drumming and guitar. Cale tells it like it is with his lyrics and even does some scat-singing.
2. Mid. Loungey with some nice piano work. Hints of Leon Redbone, but without the distinctive voice.
3. Mid/Fast. Most noticeable is Cale’s backing vocal under his own lead vocal. Sweet and simple, with good guitar work.
4. Mid. Upbeat, jumpy blues, drums prominent with soft but evident guitar. Nod to Robert Johnson with lyrics about ‘passway’ and ‘crossroad’.
5. Mid. Fade-in with banjo, a tune that makes you wanna grab a partner and do a jig.
6. Mid. A great piano solo followed by guitar solo. Soft vocal delivery, straightforward, nothing too fancy.
7. Mid/Fast. Piano, guitar intros. Latin hints, very different from the rest of the album.
8. Slow/Mid. Great for early moring/weekend play. Beautiful guitar, lap steel, soft vocal.
9. Mid/Fast. Great rocker, a real foot-stomper. Full band with some nice, albeit short, guitar and piano passages.
10. Mid. Soft harmonica on this reflective tune. Really nice guitar parts. Great for a mellower set.
11. Fast. Jim Keltner on drums, Eric Clapton on guitar. A bluesy rocker, this title track has everyone playing tight. A bit of a nod to Chuck Berry.
12. Mid. Great intro with drum and banjo. Great choice for last tune, kind of encapsulates album. Quick and perfect.

Track Listing
1. Who Knew   7. Fonda-Lina
2. Former Me   8. Leaving In The Morning
3. Where The Sun Don't Shine   9. Oh Mary
4. Down To Memphis   10. Old Friend
5. Strange Days   11. Roll On
6. Cherry Street   12. Bring Down The Curtain