Bonnie Prince Billy / Beware
Album: Beware   Collection:General
Artist:Bonnie Prince Billy   Added:Mar 2009
Label:Drag City  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-04-12 Pull Date: 2009-06-14
Week Ending: Jun 14 Jun 7 May 31 May 24 May 17 May 3 Apr 19
Airplays: 2 1 1 5 7 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. May 18, 2011: brain drip
There Is Something I Have To Say
4. Mar 03, 2011: Daydream Disaster
Beware Your Only Friend
2. May 05, 2011: Daydream Disaster
Beware Your Only Friend
5. Oct 19, 2010: Daydream Disaster
I Won't Ask Again
3. Mar 10, 2011: American Grandstand: Americana across the years
I Am Goodbye
6. Oct 07, 2010: Hipster Garbage
My Life's Work

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-04-12
Whimsical, sometimes moody alt-folk/ alt-country. The ever-brilliant Will Oldham (Palace stuff, Bonnie “Prince” Billy, and a thousand other things), in his most accessible incarnation. This album is much more country, upbeat, and put together than a lot of his stuff, so may appeal to a greater audience, but his classic sense of humor and often morose side are still there. Includes a wide array of instrumentation (violin, pedal steel, trumpet, sax, and beyond) as well as plenty of twangy guitar and Oldham’s charmingly raw voice. Play this record… you won’t be sorry. No FCCs. Recommended tracks: 1, 6, 8, 11.

1. Country anthem, with nice vocal melodies (almost Cat Stevens-y). Mostly upbeat, with occasional darker turns. [4:02]
2. Bittersweet track, great pedal steel (and… marimbas?). [3:43]
3. Grungy guitar, darker track. Haunting, semi-ironic background vocals. [3:54]
4. Lovely song, with nice vocal harmonies and mandolin. [3:02]
5. Hymn-like track… very sparing instrumentation. Rather stirring and almost eerie. [3:27]
6. Fun, very country track. Hand claps. [3:10]
7. Beautiful meditative and gloomy track. [2:55]
8. Very sweet love song. Gorgeous vocal harmonies and instrumentation. Play while sitting on the porch, sipping lemonade, and watching the stars rise on a balmy night. [4:26]
9. Whimsical, bluesy track. [3:16]
10. Brooding song, with little instrumentation. Pretty dang dark (if you’re into that kind of thing…) [3:20]
11. Country-funk. Flute. More fun than cow tipping! [2:21]
12. Pretty straightforward midtemp country song (except for the random bit with the British dude!). [3:45]
13. Swirling, meditative track. Wicked flute solo! [4:49]

Track Listing
1. Beware Your Only Friend   7. You Are Lost
2. You Can't Hurt Me Now   8. I Won't Ask Again
3. My Life's Work   9. I Don't Belong To Anyone
4. Death Final   10. There Is Something I Have To Say
5. Heart's Arms   11. I Am Goodbye
6. You Don't Love Me   12. Without Work, You Have Nothing
  13. Afraid Ain't Me