Samael / Above
Album: Above   Collection:General
Artist:Samael   Added:Mar 2009
Label:Nuclear Blast America  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-03-22 Pull Date: 2009-05-24 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Apr 26 Apr 12
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 22, 2009: public noize racket
Virtual War
2. Apr 09, 2009: Connecting Dots
Under One Flag

Album Review
Ragnar of Ravensfjord
Reviewed 2009-03-18
Modern pummeling Black Metal from Switzerland. Fast, bombastic but clean enough to make it sound modern. It’s one of those “return to the roots” things but considering their faux-Rammenstein efforts up to now, this is a fine return. Samael’s been around since the late 80’s and were in the background of the 2nd wave of BM. Overall VERY solid playing on nearly song even the few that aren’t all “there.

((((1)))) Driving, Blackish Metal with sputtering drumming/industrial-like percussion that builds up into a nice epic feeling. VERY Metal chorus, too.
(((((2))))) Thrashin’, basic-blasting BM awesome-ness. Great vocal cadence in the chorus. Not far from recent Nachtmystium.
((((3))) (FCC says he sings “fuck” but comes out like “fonk” or even “quak”) Big build up, tremolo riffs, bombastic, vocal/guitar based with a lot of “hey-hey”-s.
(((4))) Mid-paced yet battering and bassy more hints of electro-industrial but then blasts out around 2 min mark.
(((5))) Great guitar tone and drumming, but a little too repetitive.
((((6))))) Blasting modern BM, growlin’ vocals, tempo feelings like its forever spinning off its own vicious cycle. Cool proggy keyboard solo at 1:30-1:53.
(((7))) Sharp riff invoking traditional heavy metal dragged through the modern (dark) age. Decent attempt but overall nothing too special.
(((((8))))) Blasting, bombastic BM ‘ala Saytricon on “Rebel Extravagazna”), some rad bass work, too.
(((9))) Decent but typical, modern, mid-paced BM.
(((((10))))) Rather good Black/Thrash and modern extreme metal. Very catchy and infectious. Though I wish they’d pull off a straight Black/Thrash tune.
((11)) So-so at best, Industrial re-mix of #6. Bonus track, pretty chee-zee.

Track Listing
1. Under One Flag   6. Black Hole
2. Virtual War   7. In There
3. Polygames   8. Dark Side
4. Earth Country   9. God's Snake
5. Illumination   10. On The Top Of It All