Stith, Dm / Heavy Ghost
Album: Heavy Ghost   Collection:General
Artist:Stith, Dm   Added:Mar 2009
Label:Asthmatic Kitty Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-05-10 Pull Date: 2009-07-12
Week Ending: Jun 28 Jun 14 Jun 7 May 31 May 24
Airplays: 1 2 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 07, 2012: Modern Donkey - Song 2
Pity Dance
4. Jun 09, 2009: tomayto & tomahto
Fire Of Birds
2. Jan 27, 2012: Modern Donkey - Special Edition
Thanksgiving Moon
5. Jun 07, 2009: The Singing Bush
Pity Dance
3. Jun 26, 2009: Music Casserole
Thanksgiving Moon
6. Jun 02, 2009: tomayto and tomahto
Pity Dance

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-04-28
DM Stith “Heavy Ghost” Spooky, layered orchestral indie music rich with palpitating & spiraling instrumentation. Stith’s music feels like a wave, sweeping you across the room with its trance-like piano chords, floating choral work, fluttering guitar, and rattling percussion. He uses his EXCELLENT soft yet pained vocals like another instrument as his vox blend seamlessly with the tone of his work (and I subsequently missed a lot of his lyrics.) This is a haunting Sufjan Stevens – a dense, cacophonic and grandiose symphony of unique sounds. Listen to this genius with your eyes closed & soak it all in.
No FCCs detected, Start with 2, 8, 4, 7 basil

1) spiraling piano with hair-raising chants; short (1:38)
2) **Spanish guitar strumming, harrowing echoes sweep & move you back & forth until the song reaches a point of exaltation 3 minutes in– kinda creepy!
3) *rattling percussion w/ tribal vocals of call & response; primal feel to its rumbling
4)** Eerie! Listen to the lack of sharp pronunciation – Stith’s voice just floats along w/ the string work as the song waltzes along.
5) starts slow but electronics kick in that are unique; play this if you want to recruit people to your cult – scary abstract shit! (2:23)
6) simple piano, harrowing vocal harmonies, beautiful strings turn screechy & haunting
7) *soft & raw acoustic guitar matched w/ emotive, strained vocals; cool horns not seen elsewhere on the album
8) **beautiful violin work, not as haunting as others; “I couldn’t charm my way back to you” he says & then hand claps, flutters kick in & song builds to an optimistic peak
9) Simple, slow claps & Jeff Buckley-esque dynamic vocals; elements add as song progresses & end of song showcases his ability to combine unique instruments
10) soft piano tinkerings along with hushed vocals; slow and meandering
11) Epic; you can feel the music build thickly within your chest; repetitive lyrics suck you in, frantic percussion gets you twirling like a hurricane
12) Rich hummings of strings get hazy & scary but damn is it powerful. At the very least cue it up loud to feel the vibrations

Track Listing
1. Isaac's Song   7. Thanksgiving Moon
2. Pity Dance   8. Fire Of Birds
3. Creekmouth   9. Morning Glory Cloud
4. Pigs   10. Gms
5. Spirit Parade   11. Braid Of Voices
6. Bmb   12. Wig