Fidel / Crucial Cuts
Album: Crucial Cuts   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Fidel   Added:Mar 2009
Label:Nacional Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-03-08 Pull Date: 2009-05-10 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: May 10 May 3 Apr 26 Apr 19 Apr 12 Apr 5 Mar 29 Mar 22
Airplays: 1 2 2 2 2 2 4 2

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 21, 2017: Laptop Radio
Te Amo
4. May 16, 2009: New World Disorder
Balanza Dub
2. Feb 15, 2015: CLEAN COPPER RADIO
La Balanza
5. May 09, 2009: New World Disorder
Brown Skin Girl
3. Dec 19, 2009: Best Disorders of 2009
Motin Antibabilonia (With Alerta And I Jah Bones)
6. May 02, 2009: New World Disorder

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2009-03-09
Roots Reggae from Argentina. One of the members of Todos Tus Muertos (and lots of guests), doing politically-tinged roots, some dancehall, lots of nyahbinghi drums, and a couple of exceptionally gnarly dub tracks. Mostly in Spanish.
No FCCs detected. All really good – I could have thrown a lot more stars at this puppy.
1. 5:00 ***a bit downtempo minimalist skank with nyahbinghi handdrums, farfisa, dubby bits. Instrumental with really cool bits of percussion.
2. 6:19 **downtempo roots skank, guest trombone by Rico, moody but politically charged feel.
3. 3:27 ***midtempo jaunty skank with lots of bounce. Slight vocoder on the vocals, but not enough to raise hackles. Very sudden cut off.
4. 4:44 ****dubby midtempo skank, reggae singing in Spanish and dancehall diatribe in English. Nice instrumental bit in middle.
5. 6:23 ***somewhat uptempo energetic skank, also with singing in Spanish and dancehall in English. Celebratory vibe.
6. 4:08 ***somewhat uptempo, pretty singing in Spanish. Swingy.
7. 4:00 **relaxed, groovy, beachy uptempo instrumental skank with vibrato-laden keyboards.
8. 2:10 **downtempo reggaefied cover of a mariachi favorite, with dancehall rap for second half.
9. 4:01 **midtempo roots bubble with nyahbinghi handdrums.
10. 5:03 **live downtempo acoustic (lots of audience noises), fun sound with farfisa and blatty horns.
11. 4:02 *rather downtempo bubble with nyahbinghi hand drums (basically the same song as the last track, different recording.)
12. 3:39 **very slow dubby instrumental skank with soulful sax. Apart from the occasional siren in the background, mellow and groovy.
13. 6:12 ****odd dubby intro, then rather uptempo skank with gnarly horns and keyboards. Dancehall vocals in Spanish, rather offkey and stoned…
14. 4:11 ***midtempo rock steady/nyahbinghi (same riddim as track 9) with guest vocals in English. Very pretty.
15. 4:09 ****sticky, gooey dub of track 9. Gnarly!
16. 5:00 ***live recording (same like track 10) all dubbed up.
17. 0:51 **downbeat jazzy something with VERY VERY VERY stoned talking.

Track Listing
1. Puerta De Oro (With Pablo Lescano)   9. La Balanza
2. Tus Recuerdos (With Rico Rodriguez)   10. Te Amo
3. Emocionado   11. Nena Te Amo
4. Motin Antibabilonia (With Alerta And I Jah Bones)   12. Ikule-Le-Leet
5. Amenazados (With I Jah Bones)   13. Brown Skin Girl
6. Quiero Ser El Cantante   14. Nobody Remix (With Mykal Rose And Junior P)
7. Luanda   15. Balanza Dub
8. La Puerta Negra   16. Te Amo Dub
  17. Combinacion (With Shulgados Culpados)