Kinky / Barracuda
Album: Barracuda   Collection:General
Artist:Kinky   Added:Mar 2009
Label:Nettwerk Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-03-15 Pull Date: 2009-05-17
Week Ending: May 17 May 10 May 3 Apr 26 Apr 19 Apr 12 Apr 5 Mar 29
Airplays: 2 4 5 3 5 3 4 3

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 25, 2016: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Sweatpants!
Mis Pasos Tus Huellas
4. Feb 15, 2012: Everyday Commotion
Fuego En La Fabrica
2. Apr 13, 2016: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Mis Pasos Tus Huellas
5. Aug 04, 2011: Alachinada!
3. Feb 29, 2016: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Mis Pasos Tus Huellas
6. Jul 14, 2011: Alachinada!
Fuego En La Fabrica

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2009-03-23
Kinky – Barracuda
Reviewed by Sadie O., 3/6/09
Funky, blatty electronic pop from top Mexican hit-makers. Groovy beats, beefy bass, goofy squonky electronics, and a singer whose voice melts teenybopper knickers on contact – what’s not to love? So they’re huge (at least in Mexico), so they’re unabashedly pop, not to mention retro-80’s – they’re also just utterly ear-candy. So sue me!
No FCCs that I could hear. I love everything, but track 10 is NUTS!
1. 3:23 **swingy midtempo syncopation, keyboard & bass, very butt-wiggleable.
2. 3:21 **psychedelic synth drones, then very 80’s post-disco sound, dance groove. Very pop, but with a wonderfully blatty synth solo midway through.
3. 3:02 **slightly downtempo electronics with massive fuzzy bottom end (ooh, er!).. vaguly hip hoppy vocals in English.
4. 4:05 **big chugging rock with…. squeegles. Vocals both spoken and sung.
5. 2:18 **tweedles and growly bass. Gee, that’s a fun combo! Very downtempo
6. 3;09 **uptempo, big fat pop music. Lyrics in English – dunno how he lost a chunky 4/4 like this … goes straight into next track.
7. 2:21 **lots of squeepy electronics – instrumental.
8. 3:46 **uptempo and aggressive, huge bottom, sweet vocals in Spanish.
9. 3:06 **very uptempo, sort of a frug, or possibly a jerk. Lots of fuzz.
10. 2:53 ****funk disco – just sick fun! Why’s it so damn SHORT?
11. 3:41 **whooshes and almost whispered singing. Very uptempo and bouncy.
12. 3:11 ***syncopated percussion and big guitar. Sweet singing – I think it’s to throw you off guard…
13. 1:36 **electronic buzz, then bass stomp and electronics. Mostly instrumental.
14. 3:54 ***Ha! Beepy electronic mambo, ever so funky and groovy. Fades to what should be claves and maracas except they’re electronic… and back.

Track Listing
1. Hasta Quemarnos   8. Marcha A Tras (Viaje A La Semilla)
2. Papel Volando   9. Tachimaripedoncocongo
3. Those Girls   10. Fuego En La Fabrica
4. Avion   11. Por La Boca
5. Diablo Azul   12. El Tiempo
6. Masacre Sonica   13. We Proudly Present
7. The Day I Lost The Beat   14. Mis Pasos Tus Huellas