Springsteen, Bruce / Working On A Dream
Album: Working On A Dream   Collection:General
Artist:Springsteen, Bruce   Added:Feb 2009

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-04-12 Pull Date: 2009-06-14
Week Ending: Jun 14 Jun 7 May 31 May 24 May 17 May 10 May 3 Apr 26
Airplays: 4 5 2 3 4 6 9 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 30, 2022: KZSU Time Traveler
Outlaw Pete
4. Oct 19, 2019: the Acupuncture Hour
The Last Carnival
2. Feb 27, 2020: Alien Hour
Queen Of The Supermarket
5. Jan 04, 2019: KZSU Time Traveler
Outlaw Pete
3. Oct 25, 2019: KZSU Time Traveler
Outlaw Pete
6. Mar 10, 2017: KZSU Time Traveler
Outlaw Pete

Album Review
Frank Jackson
Reviewed 2009-04-08
Standard Bruce sound with full band including Clarence Clemmons on sax. Typical Bruce lyric style with a Great story-song on track #1. There are some great moments on this album including an atypical blues harmonica burner (#7); however, these moments are too infrequent resulting in a sub-par Springsteen effort. FCC on #4 – ‘Fucking’. My favorites are 1, 4 (FCC), 7, 8, 12, 13.

1. (8:00) Mid/Fast. Epic story-song about a renegade. From full band to minimalist instrumentation. Great phrases of emotional expression; classic orchestral ending. Classic Bruce.
2. (4:00) Mid/Fast. Driving beat, with Clarence on sax.
3. (3:27) Mid. Upfront vocal, ‘radio friendly’, but a bit too poppy, which Bruce can venture into at times. Good feeling, nonetheless.
4. (4:36) Slow/Mid. Quirky story-song, but well-done. A bit quiet and longing feel. Full band with backing vocals near end. FCC ‘FUCKING’.
5. (2:55) Mid. Rock ‘N’ Roller, with backing vocals at times, including Bruce’s. Nothing too remarkable.
6. (4:29) Mid. Classic E Street sound, but worst quality song on album. Lyrics are schlock.
7. (2:59) Mid. Lo-fi blues burner. Harmonica heavy and a real rockin’ number. Bruce’s voice sounds killer through the mic effects.
8. (2:11) Mid. Acoustic; upfront, quiet drums, with Bruce singing in almost a whisper.
9. (3:59) Mid. Mellow vocal delivery with tambourine, organ and drums prominent. A try at some philosophical lyrics. Not bad.
10. (4:01) Mid. One of those tunes where Bruce attempts some revelatory lyrics. Not sure it hits the mark, but the sound is classic E Street and Bruce delivery.
11. (3:23) Mid. Classic Bruce sound with backing vocals, organ, driving beat.
12. (3:09) Slow. Acoustic guitar with quiet vocal. Great for a morning/weekend show. Beautiful choral vocal ending.
13. (3:49Mid. From film ‘The Wrestler’. Acoustic guitar with perfect Bruce vocal delivery. Quiet and introspective.

Track Listing
1. Outlaw Pete   7. Good Eye
2. My Lucky Day   8. Tomorrow Never Knows
3. Working On A Dream   9. Life Itself
4. Queen Of The Supermarket   10. Kingdom Of Days
5. What Love Can Do   11. Surprise, Surprise
6. This Life   12. The Last Carnival
  13. The Wrestler