Templeton M. & Aa. Munson / Acre Loss
Album: Acre Loss   Collection:General
Artist:Templeton M. & Aa. Munson   Added:Feb 2009
Label:Anticipate Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-04-05 Pull Date: 2009-06-07 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: May 24 May 17 May 10 Apr 26 Apr 19 Apr 12
Airplays: 1 2 2 1 4 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 23, 2009: Multiple Personality Disorder
4. May 09, 2009: Music Casserole
2. May 16, 2009: Lost and Found
Too Small
5. May 07, 2009: orangeasm
Looking Northward
3. May 16, 2009: An Analgesic Haze
This Will Pass
6. Apr 22, 2009: Baptism of Bloodstains-Schub Fer Mike
Saw To The Seed

Album Review
Adam Pearson
Reviewed 2009-03-29
Experimental, droney, lush, atmospheric sound collages. Apparently, this is a collection of songs to be accompanied by 10 short films. It wouldn’t be a KZSU review of this kind of music if I didn’t use the term ‘narcotic bliss out’ music. This is wonderful stuff, though. Acre Loss is very rhythmic, lush, and features lots of sampling within these warm, ambient, drug-induced, droney hazes. This stuff is somewhat cinematic, and the blend of electronic and acoustic works well together. Some fans of mellow electronica may also like this. This reminds me of The Fun Years, Helios, Northern Valentine, Fennesz at parts. Take a shot on any of them and definitely play this late at night. Also all tracks are radio-friendly for those of you who don’t regularly play this kind of stuff. No FCCs.

1. Sample opens track and leads into drone with cool atmospheric touches, rhythmic dreamy synth washes in the mix. (3:05)
2. Some indecipherable vocals sampled in here, more drone, chirping birds, computerized sequenced synths and some banjo create a lovely, warm mood. Reverby guitars lead out of the drone and back again. Some cool harmonic manipulations at the end of the track. (5:25)
3. Noisy, tense opening, some guitars sounds clatter over the drone, somewhat of a pop structure to bassline, lovely sweet guitars. (3:34)
4. Really lush background sound with guitarwork. Very nice. (1:03)
5. Recording is manipulated to grate and sound dated, underneath it is layered wall of guitars, distortion. (2:35)
6. Clankering sounds of washing dishes in a sink over harmonic, reverse-guitars, sequenced synths, buzzing, surprisingly warm. (4:23)
7. Synths chug along with light, pretty, simple guitar work. Droney refrain while whirring distorted guitars, samples, and other guitar work add texture in the distance. Beautiful ending. (4:27)
8. This sounds very familiar to me. Interesting percussion here. Psychedelic drone on this one and I still can’t figure out what it reminds me of. (3:56)
9. Humming and cautious guitar work create brief drone with some clankering of a sample. (0:47)
10. Menacing intro, pulsating guitar refrain, bass is droney, gets quieter with birds, guitars, echoing guitar or banjo with droney synths in background. Somewhat psychadelic drone comes in again. (10:05)

Track Listing
1. Atest   6. 1 Is To One As...
2. This Will Pass   7. Safer
3. Saw To The Seed   8. It's Ok To Fall
4. Too Small   9. Small One
5. Contents Are   10. Looking Northward