Various Artists / Sufferation: The Deep Roots Of Niney The Observer
Album: Sufferation: The Deep Roots Of Niney The Observer   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Feb 2009
Label:Auralux Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-02-22 Pull Date: 2009-04-26 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Apr 26 Apr 19 Apr 12 Apr 5 Mar 29 Mar 22 Mar 15 Mar 8
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 1 3 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 02, 2018: Happy Hour
Jah Jah Higher Than I
4. Jun 04, 2009: Happy Hour
Rasta Clean/Zig Zag
2. Sep 22, 2011: Happy Hour
Sufferation/In Style
5. May 14, 2009: Happy Hour
Rock On (Murder Observer Style)
3. Aug 09, 2010: Happy Hour (Coverin' for PACC)
Jah Jah Higher Than I
6. Apr 26, 2009: The Twlight Zone
Oh Jah Man

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2009-02-20
Sufferation: Deep Roots
Reviewed by Sadie O., 2/20/09
Roots rock reggae from way back in the early 70’s. Mostly lesser known, mostly very Rasta/biblical, often a bit quirky in production. I have no idea if there’s a theme (beside Niney’s production) here, because the damn liner notes are in a font so small I can’t read em. Who cares – it’s good stuff. Most of the tracks include versions/dubs, which is always a good thing.
No FCCs that I could find. I like 2, 13 and 14 best.
1. 6:44 **downtempo, dubby bubble, sweet high lead vocals. Dub and toast cut in and out a bit. Nice stuff.
2. 5:28 ****downtempo skank, some of Gregory’s most gorgeous vocals, sparse instrumentation. Version features pretty female singing, both songs about love lost.
3. 7:29 **dramatic piano intro, slow minimalist skank, stream of consciousness hard times lyrics. Rather glitchy dub version.
4. 6:34 **uptempo bubble, biblical chat and song, bass-heavy dub.*
5. 3:05 *midtempo, rock steady feel, sweet loneliness song.
6. 7:13 ***uptempo intro, midtempo swingy bubble, exhuberant backing vocals. Particularly nice dub.
7. 2:32 **midtempo skank, vocal harmonies. Rather judgmental lyrics!
8. 3:16 ***lopassed, dubby skank, remix of often used riddim, biblical lyrics.
9. 4:55 **midtempo bouncy skank with trumpet, sweet vocals. Dub with a toast by Dillinger – always a good thing, trumpet is going nuts just behind him.
10. 7:12 *midtempo skank with fairly creative drumming, sincere if slightly tone-deaf singing. Nice dub with crashes and chimes.
11. 7:07 **odd dubby skank, right living lyrics. Song is actually a bit cloying, but the riddim is pretty amusing, and it includes a version.
12. 2:29 **pleasant midtempo skank, rather muddy vocals, but nice harmonies.
13. 3:24 ****downtempo simple skank, biblical lyrics, cool harmonies.
14. 5:09 ****same terrific song as track 2, but with lots of horns up front in the mix. Includes dub with syndrum. Gets better as it gets deeper into the dub.

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Horace Andy/Ranking Buckers Them Never Tell I/Lie Teacher Gal
2. Gregory Isaacs/Christine Rock On/Saturday
3. Tyrone Taylor Sufferation/In Style
4. Dennis Brown Blessed Are The Men (The Pill)
5. Dennis Brown Find Some One
6. Jewels, The Jah I
7. Niney I Soon Know
8. Leroy Smart Jah Is My Light
9. Dennis Brown/Dillinger Jah Is Watching You/Flat Foot Hustling
10. Mr Stone Jah Jah Higher Than I
11. George B Rasta Clean/Zig Zag
12. Rock Tone Band Burn Me Out
13. Rockstones, The Oh Jah Man
14. Gregory Isaacs Rock On (Murder Observer Style)