Cleaver/Parker/Taborn / Farmers By Nature
Album: Farmers By Nature   Collection:General
Artist:Cleaver/Parker/Taborn   Added:Feb 2009
Label:Aum Fidelity  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-03-15 Pull Date: 2009-05-17 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: May 17 May 3 Apr 19 Apr 5 Mar 29 Mar 22
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 15, 2009: Memory Select
The Night
4. Apr 01, 2009: The Heart of KZSU
Korteh Khah, The Night
2. May 01, 2009: Memory Select
Not Unlike Number 10 [excerpt]
5. Mar 28, 2009: Music Casserole
In Trees
3. Apr 17, 2009: Memory Select
Fieda Mytlie
6. Mar 27, 2009: Memory Select
Not Unlike Number 10

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-03-12
Improvised jazz, trio of piano/bass/drums. It's free-form stuff but with plenty of roots to traditional jazz-piano sounds. All three players are modern giants of free jazz.

The recording level is rather quiet and not the crispest quality, giving the songs a quilted sound (see especially track 4). The album is one continuous piece, divided into tracks for convenience's sake. Recorded at The Stone in NYC, June 2008.

The trio was apparently drummer Gerald Cleaver's idea, the intent being to start with musical "seeds" and let the sound grow and blossom from there. It's supposedly a reflection of Cleaver's admiration for subsistence farmers in the third world.

Also starring: William Parker (bass), Craig Taborn (keyboards).

1- (3:18) Quiet twisty whistles. A splash of piano near the end.
2- (8:42) Soft, like an open ballad, plus some squeaky bass sounds. Blocky but soft jazz chords later, a nice rich piano part.
3- (16:40) A slow, sneaky start with quiet echoes of crisp bop. Builds to a nicely spinning storm. Last 6 minutes get more jagged but no less bright.
4- (15:35) Quiet start, builds to splashy wild piano. Awesome, tumultuous drumming in the last 3-4 minutes.
5- (6:57) A bubbling bass solo, some nervous piano jitters.
6- (13:55) A quiet rumble, not slow but distant. Piano approaches after about 4 minutes, creating a jazzy patter, a catchy rhythm that builds steam. Ends with band intro.

Track Listing
1. Korteh Khah   4. Not Unlike Number 10
2. The Night   5. In Trees
3. Cranes   6. Fieda Mytlie