Itals, The / In A Dis Ya Time
Album: In A Dis Ya Time   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Itals, The   Added:Jan 2009
Label:Vp Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-01-18 Pull Date: 2009-03-22 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Mar 22 Mar 8 Mar 1 Feb 22 Feb 15 Feb 8 Feb 1 Jan 25
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 2 1 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 19, 2009: Best Disorders of 2009
Won't You Come Home/Bump Skank (Feat. Trinity & Dillinger)
4. Feb 28, 2009: New World Disorder
Brutal Out Deh
2. Mar 15, 2009: The Twlight Zone
Rougher Yet
5. Feb 21, 2009: New World Disorder
Won't You Come Home/Bump Skank (Feat. Trinity & Dillinger)
3. Mar 07, 2009: New World Disorder
6. Feb 16, 2009: Radio Brasil
Don't Wake The Lion

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2009-01-20
The Itals – In a Dis Ya Time
Reviewed by Sadie O., 1/13/09
Roots rock reggae from a great vocal trio. Many of the same tracks as “Early Recordings”, but they’re well worth another play (a few are new to our collection.) As far as I can tell, they’re all from the glory days of roots reggae, in the 70’s, beautifully done, and a pleasure to hear. The Itals were a top-ranking but often overlooked “power of the trinity” group, who traded vocal duties for a range of sounds, but always very roots, with a real feeling of being straight from the hills.
No FCCs detected – all great, but I like 6, 7, 10, 16 best.
1. 6:26 ***slow, roots (almost lovers’ rock) skank, impassioned vocals, Rasta lyrics. fades out for a few seconds midway through and goes into the version featuring trumpet solo.
2. 2:57 ***slow with trumpet and rich vocals up front.
3. 2:29 ***downtempo, lilting, lovely high vocals, Rasta visionary lyrics.
4. 4:03 ***midtempo w/ doubletime hi-hat, bouncy. Hard times lyrics.
5. 3:12 ***slow one-drop, a bit dark in feeling, rather stream of consciousness vocals with no harmonies.
6. 6:03 ****downtempo skank with falsetto vocals, unrequited love song. Goes directly into the version/dub (largely bass and hand percussion.)
7. 6:14 ****midtempo, quite jaunty bubble, lovely soulful vocals. Goes straight into a deep dub fairly early in the song. Nice!
8. 3:20 ***slow bubble, hard times (literally) lyrics, classic roots rock.
9. 3:28 ***downtempo rockin’ skank, some falsetto vocals, love song.
10. 3:37 ****slow roots with a touch of nyahbinghi, Rasta lyrics. Sounds like the more cosmic Burning Spear or Culture tracks.
11. 3:03 **midtempo skank, Rasta lyrics.
12. 3:43 **midtempo bubble, almost carousel keyboards, love gone wrong lyrics, no harmonies (almost sounds like Gregory Isaacs.)
13. 3:26 ***super jaunty skank, very pretty and sincere love song.
14. 3:25 ***quirky little midtempo skank, attractive unschooled baritone vocals, Rasta lyrics.
15. 3:41 **midtempo lover’s rock skank, falsetto vocals, soulful love song. Think Barry White. It’s actually so cheesy I kinda like it.
16. 6:06 *****slow skank, classic riddim, sweet and simple love song. Cuts out for a bit of naughty banter, then the the dub and toast with not one but two killer DJs, strictly come fi nice up di dance.

Track Listing
1. In A Dis Ya Time/Harbour View Rock (Feat. Vin Gordon)   9. Seeing Is Believing
2. Time Will Tell   10. Temptation
3. Don't Wake The Lion   11. Beware
4. Brutal Out Deh   12. Like You Do
5. False Preachers   13. The Way You Are
6. You Don't Care   14. The Half
7. Rougher Yet   15. What About Me
8. Time Getting Harder   16. Won't You Come Home/Bump Skank (Feat. Trinity & Dillinger)