Gojira / Way Of All Flesh, The
Album: Way Of All Flesh, The   Collection:General
Artist:Gojira   Added:Jan 2009
Label:Prosthetic Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-03-15 Pull Date: 2009-05-17 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: May 17 May 10 May 3 Apr 12 Apr 5 Mar 22
Airplays: 1 2 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. May 13, 2009: public noize racket
4. May 02, 2009: Harmony in Dischord
Yama's Messengers
2. May 09, 2009: Too heavy for titanium
The Silver Cord
5. Apr 10, 2009: orangeasm
All The Tears
3. May 09, 2009: Bloodstains Across Atherton-Attack of the Shirtless Bro-zombies
Yama's Messengers
6. Apr 04, 2009: Bloodstains Across Atherton - Nicht Religions Adverts
Esoteric Surgery

Album Review
Ragnar of Ravensfjord
Reviewed 2009-03-17
Big, riffy, melodic, death-ish metal from France. These guys have a flair for the technical without maintaining a strong sense of songwriting. The whole album sounds huge and pretty much memorable from beginning to end.

((((1)))) Spiraling riffs, mid-pace clean singing with a few aggressive parts in the vox.
(((2))) Droning ambient, then heavy & tricky off-time riff/structure, a little too clangy & off-putting in places.
(((3))) Strange techno beat then jagged dual guitar harmonies and robot-ish vocals.
(((((4))))) Monster riffs! Really good shouted vocals and drumming. The song never seems to stop smashin' you over the head with riffs.
((((5)))) Nice mellow instrumental, sort like the overdone post-rock thing but it works well here.
(((((6))))) Chuggin’ along nicely, very riffy gets fast in places with some bursts of drum blasts and killer bass playing.
((((7)))) Randy from Lamb of God guest duets, good mix of crazy fretboard scrapings/explorations and battering drumming. A little long though
(((8))) Weird percussion intro then a flurry of riffs and pinging cymbals. Builds into a pretty decent tune. Spot on lyrics, too but does drag a bit.
((((((9)))))) Spiraling and very strong riffing & vocals. Good lyrics that try to shine some light (not in a religious way) within the dark. GREAT stuff!
(((((10))))) Way downtuned, plenty o’ riffs and a straight up anthem, very few modern metal bands can pull this off and they sure do here.
(((((11)))) Epic, very focused & massive. Ends with a overly long & pointless backtracking.
(((((12))))) Drum-drum-drum and lots of judjudjud but really the bursts & breaks are all in the right place. Robot voice makes another return.

Track Listing
1. Oroborus   7. Adoration For None
2. Toxic Garbage Island   8. The Art Of Dying
3. A Sight To Behold   9. Esoteric Surgery
4. Yama's Messengers   10. Vacuity
5. The Silver Cord   11. Wolf Down The Earth
6. All The Tears   12. The Way Of All Flesh