mikhailova, irina & B. Smiley / Nightflower
Album: Nightflower   Collection:General
Artist:mikhailova, irina & B. Smiley   Added:Dec 2008
Label:Elefaria Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-01-25 Pull Date: 2009-03-29 Charts: Electronic, Reggae/World
Week Ending: Mar 8 Feb 22 Feb 15 Feb 1
Airplays: 1 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 04, 2009: The Heart of KZSU
Night Flower Remix
4. Feb 14, 2009: Music Casserole
2. Feb 21, 2009: Lost and Found
5. Jan 31, 2009: Lost and Found
Song Of Laya
3. Feb 17, 2009: 408's Finest
Savo Voda
6. Jan 27, 2009: 408's Finest
Night Flower Remix

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-01-18
Mix of "D" and "W" sounds on this one. Local singer, originally from Kazakhstan, over drums, bass, electronics like the Orb. Generally very chill, though a few are more upbeat (see #6). Always sounds great, although some definitely stand out. #1 is fantastic. All songs 5-7 minutes or so. FCC Clean.

**1. Wow. ~1 min. Chill ambient soundscape, then like a darker "La Femme d'Argent" (Air): nice bass line that brings Spiritualized to mind, various percussion, great vocal chanting, Orb-like electronics.
*2. Crickets -> stand up bass, BoC guitar, violin flourishes, chanting, spoken word. Solid drums & bass on this one.
3. Some vocal layering, Orb-like bass & electronics
4. Delicious cello-like electronics to start, more active bass and vocal chanting
5. Hand drums, chanted and hushed spoken vocals, bass that reminds me of DJ Shadow
*6. Starts with people talking, then the finally get their act together to make a nice groove with hand claps, layered vocals. Sounds like At the Cafe Bohemian territory to me!
7. Repeated vocals that sorta remind me of "Halber Mensch", but less scary. Builds with hip-hop beat, then drums.
8. On the more upbeat side, vocals get a little cheesy/poppy, but nice dark electronics underneath.
9. Another more upbeat one with chanting, propulsive bass line enters at 1 min. Disappears into more crickets.
10. Foreboding, builds slowly. More dancey.
11. Drums are the focus here for the most part, though there's also chanting.

Track Listing
1. Song Of Laya   6. Kenza
2. Night Flower Remix   7. Mori Moma Remix
3. Savo Voda   8. Vinsandaan
4. Labess   9. Salaam Remix
5. Dereye Remix   10. Harem (Irina's Edit)
  11. Hooka