New Jazz Composers Octet / Turning Gate, The
Album: Turning Gate, The   Collection:Jazz
Artist:New Jazz Composers Octet   Added:Dec 2008
Label:Motema Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-03-29 Pull Date: 2009-05-31 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Apr 19 Apr 12 Apr 5
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 17, 2009: No Cover, No Minimum
Faith Suite: Panic
3. Apr 01, 2009: The Heart of KZSU
Faith Suite: Twilight
2. Apr 11, 2009: Music Casserole
Faith Suite: Twilight

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-03-27
Mainstream jazz with a mellow, nighttime contemporary sheen. The idea is to show off new compositions, of course, and they're handled expertly with some really good soloing.

1- Sly, sneaky feel.
2- Lightly bopping, a bit mellow & loungy
3- Sparkly bop, mid/fast
4- Slowish, lovely-ish
5- A small march, playfully tense. Some cool soloing.
6- Mid/fast, rolling.
7- Drummerless chamber-like start, into a friendly mid/fast piece.
8- Midtempo interlude showing a cerebral kind of swing.
9- Strong pulsing theme.
10- Placid flute, builds into a searing sax solo.

Track Listing
1. The Turning Gate   6. Faith Suite: In The Beginning
2. New (Shadrach, Meshach And Abednego)   7. Faith Suite: Twilight
3. David And Goliath   8. Faith Suite: The Doubtful
4. Once   9. Faith Suite: Panic
5. Bad Alchemy   10. Onward