Stith, Dm / Curtain Speech
Album: Curtain Speech   Collection:General
Artist:Stith, Dm   Added:Nov 2008
Label:Asthmatic Kitty  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-03-08 Pull Date: 2009-05-10
Week Ending: Apr 12 Apr 5 Mar 29 Mar 22 Mar 15
Airplays: 2 3 2 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 02, 2016: Music Casserole
Around The Lion Legs
4. Apr 03, 2009: before bball
Abraham's Song (Firebird)
2. Apr 06, 2009: Gold Soundz
Abraham's Song (Firebird), Around The Lion Legs
5. Apr 01, 2009: The Heart of KZSU
Just Once
3. Apr 04, 2009: Music Casserole
Around The Lion Legs
6. Mar 27, 2009: Emphysema For Emphasis
Around The Lion Legs

Album Review
Bailey Richardson
Reviewed 2009-02-25
DM Stith “Curtain Speech” A mix between the flurrying, layered symphonies of Sufjan Stevens (they share the same label & apparently Sufjan contributed to the album) and the unobtrusive, intimate softness of Bon Iver. The EP combines mostly guitar & strings with electronics, choir, quirky percussion and pennywhistles (you’ll know it when you hear it). I dig it! All songs are worth a listen, but #3 is most experimental and complex (note its length). No FCCs

1) *Soft acoustic guitar, soft voice -> gets experimental & builds w/ military drum roll, harmonies (3:43)
2) just some revolving piano chords & harrowing harmonies (1:43)
3) **acoustic plucking, machine gun harmonies; storms into a cyclone of whiny, wild violins, clapping & louder vocals (7:37)
4) * whistling, lovely piano, wandering chime noises; no vocals (2:51)
5) *fast acoustic guitar plucking; he speaks close to the mic which gives his vox a rich texture (1:10)

Track Listing
1. Around The Lion Legs   3. Just Once
2. Curtain Speech   4. Hoarse Sorrows And The Whole Blind Earth...
  5. Abraham's Song (Firebird)