Grampall Jookabox / Ropechain
Album: Ropechain   Collection:General
Artist:Grampall Jookabox   Added:Nov 2008
Label:Asthmatic Kitty Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-01-18 Pull Date: 2009-03-22
Week Ending: Feb 22 Feb 15 Feb 8 Feb 1 Jan 25
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 18, 2009: The Heart of KZSU
Black Girls
4. Feb 03, 2009: The Space Jam Revival Hour
The Girl Ain't Preggers
2. Feb 13, 2009: Emphysema For Emphasis
5. Jan 30, 2009: The Pants Down Oval Office
Black Girls
3. Feb 03, 2009: I once was Canadian
The Girl Ain't Preggers
6. Jan 21, 2009: Brownian Motion
Black Girls

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2009-01-04
“Surrealistic pop”, hard to describe aside from an amalgam of beats and layers of familiar music, male vocal delivery, but all in a demented manner that comes across hard to nail down. Overall, beat driven, near electro dance, but leaning toward the noisier side of idiosyncratic sickness. Like OutKast put through a meat grinder.

1) big beat, dense somewhat noisey layered music, with backwards female vocals as a strange chorus, male vocals singing about “black girls”
2) a more tom tom tribal beat, with a relentless analog synth melody that twists this pop hard, by the nuts
3) pitch changed vocals with minimal synth, bizarre
4) more of a straightforward beat, soulfull vocals, chill and dark, pretty
5) kinda rockin, soul and funkiness bleeds through as it progresses, nice lyric hook “the girl aint preggers”
6) starts/ends with a nice drone noise, then a near low-fi dark bass driven tribal sickness appears, grows into dense funky insanity
7) minimal slow soulful layered vocals with guitar, chill
8) kinda fun and upbeat, like “Hey ya” but more restrained
9) FCCs
10) kinda dramatic, with a God theme, tribal, excellent “strike me down”
11) somewhat subdued soul, plodding beat, dark

Track Listing
1. Black Girls   6. You Will Love My Room
2. Let's Go Mad Together   7. I Will Save Young Michael
3. Ghost   8. The One Thing
4. Old Earth, Wash My Beat   9. We Know We Might Be Fucked
5. The Girl Ain't Preggers   10. Strike Me Down
  11. I'm Absolutely Freaked Out