Writer / Blood Drops
Album: Blood Drops   Collection:General
Artist:Writer   Added:Oct 2008

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-05-17 Pull Date: 2009-07-19
Week Ending: May 31 May 24
Airplays: 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 16, 2009: The DJ Never Has It
Try And Stop Me
4. May 26, 2009: in the groove
Try And Stop Me
2. May 28, 2009: Death Row Radio
Blood Drops
5. May 21, 2009: Palo Alto Pop Overthrow
Don't Wake The Sun
3. May 28, 2009: Palo Alto Pop Overthrow
Try And Stop Me
6. May 19, 2009: 408's Finest

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-05-09
Very standard mid-tempo pop/rock music, sounds like the better songs they play from the 90s on variety stations, not your normal college radio fare. Songs typically build around repetition as instruments are added or subtracted to lead up to the climax. Instrumentation is primarily guitars and percussion with occasional synths, I think to sound "epic". Even the vocalist has an ordinary voice, sounding like the guys who sing adult contemporary songs, with the occasional touches of the guy from Bright Eyes, and when the epic synths come in, the people from Polyphonic Spree. No FCCs noted.

1 (3:49) Not particularly good, starts with acoustics and instruments are added to create a very artificial-feeling buildup.
2) (4:36) Sounds like a track that would be played in a mall to entice fifteen year olds to buy clothing with "alternative" music. At 3:10 the song ends and a sparse guitar buzz with xylophone finishes the track.
3) (2:37) Starts with electric guitar riffing and is one of the louder songs on the album, but pretty boring.
*4) (3:48) Features some of the album's better music, less dentist's office than the rest; sounds just a bit like Pedro the Lion.
5) (3:49) Incredibly repetitive acoustic guitar piece and whiny vocals; avoid.
6) (3:30) This one has some nice guitar pieces throughout, layered vocal effects at the end provide extra whine, putting a damper on an otherwise okay track.
7) (4:37) Title track, based around electric guitar, guest vocals at the end make the song a bit interesting but can't make up for everything after 2:20 being the same lyric over and over and over and over again.

Track Listing
1. Matthew   4. Try And Stop Me
2. Anymore   5. Start A War
3. Don't Wake The Sun   6. Where Was I
  7. Blood Drops