Mogwai / Hawk Is Howling, The
Album: Hawk Is Howling, The   Collection:General
Artist:Mogwai   Added:Oct 2008
Label:Matador Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-12-07 Pull Date: 2009-02-08
Week Ending: Feb 8 Feb 1 Jan 25 Jan 18 Jan 11 Jan 4 Dec 21 Dec 14
Airplays: 3 3 2 3 2 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 15, 2012: meow
I'm Jim Morrison, But I'm Dead
4. Oct 08, 2009: Socially Unacceptable
I'm Jim Morrison, But I'm Dead
2. May 10, 2012: Nick&Noah: The Radio Show
The Sun Smells Too Loud
5. Jul 25, 2009: Scatterbrain Radio
The Sun Smells Too Loud
3. Oct 24, 2009: Scatterbrain Radio
Scotland's Shame
6. Feb 08, 2009: The Sonic Bubble
The Sun Smells Too Loud

Album Review
Adam Pearson
Reviewed 2009-01-27
Heavy, atmospheric post-rock. The Hawk is Howling returns Mogwai to their ‘Mogwai’ sound of swirling distorted guitars, crashing percussion, and atmospheric crescendos. They are not reinventing the wheel here, just offering some new Mogwai. I like the middle section of the album the most because it seems the most interesting when comparing this to Mogwai’s other work. No FCC violations; all tracks are instrumental.

1. Light piano introduction, slowly builds up, production is restrained here, the crescendo is held back by soft piano twinkling over distorted guitars (6:44)
2. Most metal-ish song on here, lead single, is in ¾ time, guitars are distorted and intentionally dark and nasty, breaks down and shifts gears at midpoint (5:25)
3. Electronics, bells, add to the usual on this track, (5:18)
4. Down-tempo melancholy on this one, electronics here surround slow, dueling, effect-drenched guitars (4:15)
*5. Most unique song on the album, poppy, uptempo, electronic melodic elements, does not really go anywhere (6:58)
6. Slow, lacking drums, lots of subtle touches and layers, built around a guitar progression with xylophones and weird outro(4:42)
7. Standard Mogwai dirge, explodes into barrage of guitar in last minute (7:33)
*8. Organ drones open, slowly builds with distorted tremolo guitar, to a swirling crescendo of electronics, pianos, guitars (8:00)
9. A more mellow effort, borders an ambient, atmospheric (7:53)
10. Repetitive guitar intro, prominent drumming, builds to a menacing wall of sounds of guitars and noise(6:42)

Track Listing
1. I'm Jim Morrison, But I'm Dead   6. Kings Meadow
2. Batcat   7. I Love You, I'm Going To Blow Up Your School
3. Danphe And The Brain   8. Scotland's Shame
4. Local Authority   9. Thank You Space Expert
5. The Sun Smells Too Loud   10. The Precipice