New Duncan Imperials, The / End Of Phase One
Album: End Of Phase One   Collection:General
Artist:New Duncan Imperials, The   Added:Oct 2008
Label:Pravda Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-11-23 Pull Date: 2009-01-25
Week Ending: Jan 18 Jan 4 Dec 28 Dec 14 Dec 7 Nov 30
Airplays: 3 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 15, 2009: A2Z
The Mother Ship
4. Dec 23, 2008: What the fush?
Blame It On Me
2. Jan 14, 2009: Hand Wash in Coleslaw
Blame It On Me
5. Dec 10, 2008: Brownian Motion
What Do People Like?
3. Jan 03, 2009: New World Disorder
Blame It On Me
6. Dec 03, 2008: The Sonic Bubble
Circular Wheels

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2008-11-24
New Duncan Imperials – End of Phase One
Reviewed by Sadie O., 11/16/08
American garage rock with simple yet odd lyrics. Eight years since their last record and 20 years since Tilt-a-Whirl (god! Time! Flies!) they’re just as basic and teenaged yet… I don’t know. They’re kinda funny and they’re not. They do dip into many of the finest forms of straightforward Americana musically, but I think it’s best to just accept that their lyrics are what they are and not think about it too much…
Single FCC on track 9, which naturally is my favorite…
1. 3:18 **power chords and adenoidal anthem to teen age rock ‘n’ roll (or something – anthem-y, anyway!)
2. 2:39 ***bluesy swagger with lots of bop.
3. 4:05 **simple guitar and drums, amusing lyrics. Gets more loudness, and maybe a mandolin.
4. 3:02 *subdued intro, swingy, kinda lounge-y smooth groove, all about having, indeed, nothing to do.
5. 3:56 ***groovy (but a bit laid-back) garage rock, psychedelic lyrics (if not music), wah-wah solo.
6. 2:11 **Ramones-oid music, toe-gaze lyrics. Makes no sense, really, but what the hell!
7. 3:20 **pretty acoustic folky-mellow stuff, pissy lyrics with a ring of truth, pedal steel for a bit of moodiness.
8. 2:36 ***heavy garage rock with lots of bombast. I guess this one is about paranoia…
9. 2:23 FCC: “shitty” ****fast garage rock – this one’s gotta be at least semi-autobiographical!
10. 3:36 **honky-tonk waltz with pedal steel and reflective lyrics.
11. 2:02 ***hyperspeed 4/4 romp with hyperspeed vocals.
12. 2:35 **big heavy intro, sweet 80’s-style vocals with rather goofy and pointless lyrics.

Track Listing
1. High School Soul   7. Stupid World
2. Blame It On Me   8. It's Just A Sound
3. Land Of The Elegant Bachelors   9. I Love You Honey But I Hate Your Band
4. Nothing To Do   10. What Do People Like?
5. The Mother Ship   11. (I Never Got Anything) Off Of You
6. I'm Invisible!   12. Circular Wheels