Mighty Underdogs, The / Droppin' Science Fiction
Album: Droppin' Science Fiction   Collection:Hip-hop
Artist:Mighty Underdogs, The   Added:Oct 2008
Label:Quannum Projects  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-11-09 Pull Date: 2009-01-11 Charts: Hip-Hop
Week Ending: Jan 11 Jan 4 Dec 28 Dec 21 Dec 14 Dec 7 Nov 30 Nov 23
Airplays: 5 7 5 1 5 2 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 02, 2015: Souls of Sound
Hands In The Air
4. Dec 23, 2010: Happy Hour
2. Aug 18, 2013: New World Disorder
Ill Vacation (Feat. Lyrics Born)
5. Sep 12, 2009: lost and found
3. Dec 10, 2011: New World Disorder
Warwalk (Feat Chali 2na, Raashan Ahmad, Tash, And Zion)
6. Mar 19, 2009: Happy Hour
Ill Vacation (Feat. Lyrics Born)

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2008-10-29
The Mighty Underdogs – Droppin’ Science Fiction
Reviewed by Sadie O., 10/18/08
Diverse and often frankly crazed Bay Area hip hop with great pedigrees (as it were) and guests. Everything from gangsta to smooth soul to old school to beatboxing with dog barks is fair game. Got some serious stuff, some goofy stuff, and lots of really terrific sounding stuff. This is my town, yo, I LIVE here – how damn lucky can a person be?
Mostly cleaned – single “shit” on track 2. I like 5, 11 and 14 best.
1. 2:01 ***boom! Forceful midtempo march with a funky shake, machine gun rap. I just wish it was longer… Ends with kiddies.
2. 2:09 FCC: “shit” **harps and scratches (sure, why not?) fun boasting rap. Last few seconds are spoken interchange.
3. 3:14 **midtempo minimal soul shuffle with shakers lending an urgent sound. Hard times rap. Pretty singing by Julian Marley – not much of Damien in evidence.
4. 4:08 ***slow and hard beat, gangsta reality rap. Feedback adds an appropriate soundtrack. Whew, that’s serious…
5. 3:53 ****uptempo ultra swingy mambo baby, high speed rap – fun! Suddenly stops and goes into rambling talk about dogs.
6. 3:43 ***manic electronica with a slinky groove behind it, crazy stuff – female singing that sounds like theremin, bizarre raps…
7. 3:02 ***human beatbox and crazed laughter – nuts! Total diss – but hilarious.
8. 3:47 **sweet and mellow but uptempo jazz groove with piano and fretless bass.
9. 0:54 Ha! Beatboxing with dog barks.
10. 2:57 **midtempo smooth groove, philosophical rap with lots of internal rhymes.
11. 3:15 caveat: “Goddamn” x several ****a few tings, then terrific midtempo bump with lots of fun noises. Mentions of the Bay Area.
12. 4:08 *pretty uptempo soul shake with ethereal female vocals, pretty singing, poignant love song.
13. 3:02 ***militant sounding old school hip hop, rather naughty story about a sexy girl, but who cares when the sound is so killer… Some mad Latin percussion towards the end.
14. 3:55 ****downtempo phat strut, great guest rappers. I may have mentioned that I wanna have Chali 2na’s 2-headed love child…
15. 4:30 **sweet and rather anthemic sounding. Hooray! Ends with half a minute of hums and chimes.

Track Listing
1. Monster   8. Escape (Feat. Mr. Lif And Akrobatik)
2. Hands In The Air   9. Doglude
3. So Sad (Feat. Julian And Damian Marley)   10. Folks
4. Gun Fight (Feat. Mf Doom)   11. Ufc Remix (Cuts By Dj Shadow)
5. Ill Vacation (Feat. Lyrics Born)   12. Want You Back
6. Science Fiction   13. Aye
7. Laughing At You (Feat. Casual)   14. Warwalk (Feat Chali 2na, Raashan Ahmad, Tash, And Zion)
  15. Victorious