Ichiban / Psychle Analysis
Album: Psychle Analysis   Collection:Hip-hop
Artist:Ichiban   Added:Oct 2008

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-03-08 Pull Date: 2009-05-10 Charts: Hip-Hop
Week Ending: May 10 May 3 Apr 26 Apr 12 Apr 5 Mar 29 Mar 15
Airplays: 2 1 2 1 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 10, 2017: Happy Hour
In My Arms
4. Sep 02, 2013: Happy Hour (Coverin' for PACC on Laobr Day)
2. Mar 02, 2016: Home on the Range
5. Sep 05, 2011: Happy Hour (Coverin' for PACC)
Day In The L.I.F.E.
3. Jan 04, 2016: Happy Hour
In My Arms
6. Jul 26, 2011: A Mind Redefined
In My Arms

Album Review
Reviewed 2009-02-24
Ichiban “Psycle Analysis”: Rich hip-hop characterized by scratching, sound bytes and the artist’s Japanese heritage (check out the album art). His simple beats sound of underground, quality hip hop – more Common than Kanye. The artist writes his own socially conscious lyrics, produces his own music and engineers each song with no collaborators in sight. Ichiban means “1” in Japanese and he is World Champion in karate.
- Basil, baileyr@stanford.edu

1) * RJD2-esque; upbeat drums, high pitched keyboard; Japanese accented voice bytes
2) FCC “Shit” & “hell” guitar plucks & cool bass line drive song narrating a day in the life
3) **FCC “shit” Upbeat, horns, some Japanese flute nice classical piano clips.
4) **FCC “Fuckin”; upbeat; love the flute, choppy drums, warped female vox
5) ***80s screech noises, uptempo song, aggressive drums; makes u move! Monologue for last 15s
6) * life is tough feel; sullen, simple guitar twangs and flutes
7) Lupe Fiasco-esque third person description of a fighting couple; slow pace
8) Short song showcases turntable abilities & some dude’s obnoxious voice
9) FCC “Fucks”; wandering eastern guitar; rich lyrics: “pump up the masochistic melody”
10) **FCC “shitty”; jazzy upbeat song about the world’s end
11) 1920s urban feel, jazzy piano; slow beat, aggressive words; “born alone, die alone”
12) *** FCC “fucks” unique harmonies, repetitive choir-like sound bytes drive the track
13) *** upbeat, poppy & erratic piano effects; reminds me of Jay Z’s “Lucifer”
14) ** upbeat, cymbal rich drums, heavy piano chords, rich soul voices in the background; ends with a Japanese man monologing for 15sec w/ accompaniment
15) FCC “shit” “fuck” jumpy computer synth, Kevin spacey monologue starts song; aggressive vox

Track Listing
1. Spirals   8. Escaping Velocity
2. Day In The L.I.F.E.   9. Pena
3. Twenty Two   10. St@Fr!$#
4. Staring @ The Sun   11. Lonely
5. Birth.Life.Death.Repeat.   12. The Ether
6. In My Arms   13. Troubled Waters
7. Back & Forth   14. Goodbye
  15. It Was..