Subliminator, The / Rake
Album: Rake   Collection:General
Artist:Subliminator, The   Added:Oct 2008
Label:Stickfigure Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-12-07 Pull Date: 2009-02-08
Week Ending: Feb 8 Feb 1 Jan 25 Jan 18 Jan 11 Jan 4 Dec 21 Dec 14
Airplays: 1 2 1 2 1 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 24, 2022: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
4. Jan 31, 2009: Lost and Found
2. Oct 16, 2011: lost and found
5. Jan 28, 2009: Hand Wash in Coleslaw
3. Feb 07, 2009: Lost and Found
6. Jan 24, 2009: Lost and Found
Yankee Girl Mojo

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2008-11-29
Think Suicide crossed with Barry Adamson. Electrobased urgent sound beds often supplemented with excellent guitar, brass, real drums etc. Lots of good echo treatments on the male vocals that are mostly spoken in that Adamson way. Super smart lyrics, dark and cynical in places. Impossible to pigeon-hole. Great stuff, watch FCCs on track 3. Track 11 is funny too, proving that this guy has a sense of humor about all these dark pensive foreboding rhythms and compositions.

1) low synth, Suicide-like voice over with jaded commentary about Ginsberg’s “Howl”, great
2) beautiful simple electro beat with noisey guitar and submerged negative vocals
3) FCCs (great music but FCCs, okay for safe harbor)
4) simple electro with voiceover, reminds me of Barry Adamson somehow, good advanced stuff about reality that most the students of Stanford wouldn’t understand, but they think they do because of their high falutin bullshit educations
5) strange electro, voices and harsh moog’sih stuff, truly interesting if not bizarre
6) tribal beat almost, with spoken word voiceover, good stuff, discover it on your own
7) urgent subliminal electro sound bed to a very Barry Adamson, wise, jaded voiceover, really great
8) an electro based rhythm with cool vocal overdubs and layers
9) heavy on the vocal layers, mostly a collage of vocal samples, cool stuff
10) swingy sorta Mancini, “a man born to hang will not die”, spooky spy feel
11) spoken word poem that is a great message for everyone “nothing gives you the right to be an asshole!”

Track Listing
1. Howl!   6. Indiana
2. Opa-Locka   7. Yankee Girl Mojo
3. Exploding Hearts   8. Caravaggio
4. Paper Cranes   9. Appliances
5. Shaheed   10. Hang
  11. Note To Self