Downs, Lila / Shake Away
Album: Shake Away   Collection:World
Artist:Downs, Lila   Added:Oct 2008

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-11-02 Pull Date: 2009-01-04 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Jan 4 Dec 28 Dec 21 Dec 14 Dec 7 Nov 30 Nov 23 Nov 16
Airplays: 5 1 3 3 2 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 28, 2012: In Your Ear | Global Radio
Nothing But The Truth
4. Jan 07, 2009: Cipher's Crop Circle
Taco De Palabras
2. Jun 30, 2011: Alachinada!
I Would Never
5. Jan 06, 2009: At the Cafe Bohemian
Black Magic Woman
3. May 20, 2010: The Knife
Perro Negro
6. Jan 03, 2009: New World Disorder
Shake Away

Album Reviews
Red West
Reviewed 2010-05-20
#4 is a Tom Waits cover, or at least, it quotes a Tom Waits song
Reviewed 2008-10-23
The delicious Mexican-American-Mixtec singer dishes up yet another seriously good release. There’s fire and fun in equal blends with a solid band and great material, everything from mystical folk-based tunes to political commentaries to covers of songs such as “Black Magic Woman.” Great guest stars. In English and Spanish. This one rocks, folks, and it’s fabulously good.

1. Fun and energetic blend of oom-pah, blues, and Latin rock.
2. Upbeat vocal duet w/a solid beat and lots of passion.
3. Midtempo country-tinged commentary on minimum wage.
4. Great upbeat duet w/Ruben Albarran from Café Tacuba. Bouncy, driving, increasingly fast and furious. Wicked good. Yow!
5. Spanish cover of Lucinda Williams song. Slow & beautiful.
6. Upbeat bounce w/a touch of Zydeco/blues/rock and lots of brass.
7. Husky voiced & jazzily mystical Santana classic. Sexy duet.
8. Slow, gentle, romantic….a sweet, dreamy love song.
9. Starts like an Andean folk song, becomes a hip urban groove.
10. Bright, midtempo and warm blend of musical cultures. So cool.
11. Mostly traditional Veracruz folk tune, upbeat & joyful.
12. Slow and sensual ballad with gorgeous deep, rich vocals.
13. A touch of the Celtic at first, then funky midtempo rock.
14. Upbeat, driving with a sense of fire and soaring vocals.
15. English version of #5 – equally beautiful. Take your pick.
16. Mid/upbeat – part rock anthem, part folk bounce.

Track Listing
1. Little Man   9. Justicia
2. Ojo De Culebra   10. Taco De Palabras
3. Minimum Wage   11. Los Pollos
4. Perro Negro   12. Tierra De Luz
5. Yo Envidio El Viento   13. Silent Thunder
6. Skeleton   14. Shake Away
7. Black Magic Woman   15. I Envy The Wind
8. I Would Never   16. Nothing But The Truth