Ascent Of Everest, The / How Lonely Sits The City
Album: How Lonely Sits The City   Collection:General
Artist:Ascent Of Everest, The   Added:Aug 2008

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2009-02-01 Pull Date: 2009-04-05
Week Ending: Mar 29 Mar 8 Feb 22 Feb 8
Airplays: 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 24, 2009: Another PACC Appreciation Hour
4. Feb 18, 2009: Baptism of Subtitude
Alas, Alas! The Breath Of Life!
2. Mar 03, 2009: At the Cafe Subhemian
We Trembled In Our Own Hearts
5. Feb 06, 2009: gasmgasm
3. Feb 21, 2009: On The Subpath
We Trembled In Our Own Hearts
6. Feb 04, 2009: Brownian Motion Sub

Album Review
Rafe McBride
Reviewed 2009-01-23
Epic post-rock sound, mostly instrumental, that features cello and violin prominently. Longer tracks (~10 min) that build nice and slow with ominous cello, violin, guitars, & drums to epic wall of sound crescendos. For fans of Godspeed You Black Emporer, Mogwai, Dirty Three. Track 4 features progressive political speech backed by music.
FCC Clean

1) Opens slowly with low droney noises, then builds nicely with cello, violin, guitars, piano, drums until vocals come, ‘epic’ guitars come in at around 7:30 minute mark, slower / quiet toward end.
2) Opens with cello ‘bass-line’, nice dissonant guitars, quickly turns into wall of sound with pounding rhythm, then distant atmospheric vocals in the background, and epic guitar kicking in around 3:30 minute mark.
**3) Opens slowly with grand piano, ominous tympani drums, nice interplay between cello& violin, great epic wall of sound climax, ends quietly with baroque organ sound.
4) Opens with ominous ambient sounds for first minute, then a progressive political speech about homelessness/poor state of economy/prez Bush plays while ominous noises and guitars continue in background, slowly builds to climax @ 8 min. Bleeds into next track.
5) Opens with dissonant feedbacky guitars that give way to ominous, but more structured song at around 2 min. Then builds nicely to climax around 6 minute mark, lulls and changes at around 9 minute mark then builds again and ends quietly with noises of children playing for last 2 minutes.

Track Listing
1. Alas, Alas! The Breath Of Life!   3. Molotov
2. We Trembled In Our Own Hearts   4. A Threnody
  5. If I Could Move Mountains